Echo and the Bunnymen / Do It Clean: An Anthology 1979-1987


Do It Clean: An Anthology is a new two-CD Echo and the Bunnymen set from Salvo Music that summarises the band’s output between 1979 and 1987.

The 38-track collection actually contains all the band’s singles from this era including non-album 45s and People Are Strange from The Lost Boys soundtrack.

There’s a small sprinkling of relative rarities with the inclusion of The Original Cutter – A Drop in the Ocean – originally on the flipside to Never Stop. Speaking of which, that single is also included in its remixed form (Never Stop (Discotheque)). New sleeve notes from Paul Lester are included in the 16 page booklet.

Do It Clean: An Anthology 1979-1987 is out on 16 April 2015.

Track listing


1. The Pictures on my Wall
2. Read It In Books
3. Rescue
4. Crocodiles
5. Pride
6. Villiers Terrace
7. The Puppet
8. Do It Clean
9. Show of Strength
10. With A Hip
11. Over The Wall
12. A Promise
13. Turquoise Days
14. All I Want
15. The Cutter
16. The Back Of Love
17. Porcupine
18. Heads Will Roll
19. Gods Will Be Gods
20. Never Stop (Discotheque)

CD 2

1. Silver
2. Crystal Days
3. Thorn of Crowns
4. The Killing Moon
5. Seven Seas
6. Ocean Rain
7. Bring On The Dancing Horses
8. The Game
9. Bedbugs & Ballyhoo (Single version)
10. All In Your Mind
11. Lips Like Sugar (Single mix)
12. New Direction
13. Satellite
14. People Are Strange
15. Never Stop 7″ version
16. Bedbugs and Ballyhoo (Club Mix)
17. Rollercoaster
18. The Original Cutter – A Drop In The Ocean

20 responses to Echo and the Bunnymen / Do It Clean: An Anthology 1979-1987

  1. Kenneth Bauer says:

    i just purchased this double cd last night. i turned up the base in my car-no base on songs. i then turned base up on home stereo- no base. grabbed ” very best more songs to learn and sing” cd, and same songs were pouncing. returning tomm. just get “very best more songs”. best one out there

  2. Greg schalla says:

    Great remarks, Ian. Grazie!

  3. Ian Gilchrist says:

    I compiled this comp, and in doing so I endeavoured to create a really solid ‘one stop’ collection of the best of their output during what is regarded by most as their peak period.

    The previous Demon 2 CD comp is now out of print, and I believe this to be the best 2 CD anthology of the Bunnymen currently available.

    Having said that, I wanted to include the best tracks from their post ’87 recordings, but they were not available for inclusion due to restrictions.

    The tracks are all from the early ’00 remasters, which have been given a tweaking by our mastering guys. I will not label anything that I oversee as ‘remastered’ if it’s simply a case of an engineer re-EQing existing digital files, although improvements can be made by doing so and again that is what we endeavoured to do.

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Hi Ian – thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Cheers, Paul

    • john lydon says:

      this new compilation has just a single review on amazon so far and it’s not a complimentary one as far as the sound goes.any other purchasers of this comp. have an opinion?

  4. Pingback:Out This Week / 13 April 2015 | superdeluxeedition

  5. Steve says:

    Bedbugs Club mix was released on a promo cd in the U.S along with a 7″ Remix:;+The+Bunnymen&title=Bedbugs+And+Ballyhoo&format=

    And More Songs to Sing and Learn included most singles up to the album Siberia.
    There are so many Bunnymen compilations out there that it makes this one redundant.

  6. Barry Whiting says:

    As per earlier posters, the Peel Sessions are crying out for a dedicated release. They did 6 sessions playing circa 21 tracks with many of the tracks being substantially different to the the final, released versions. It’s a shame this legacy has only been released on an EP, as part of a boxset and as an extra disc on an album re-release. Please sort :)

  7. Brian says:

    It’s the first time that Bedbugs and Ballyhoo (Club Mix) has been on CD isn’t it?

  8. Eric says:

    I wish these compilations wouldn’t keep going over the same period, always stopping at the point they left WEA. The Crystal Days set did feature a few 90s tracks, but a comprehensive round-up of everything, including post-1987, would be great. In the meantime, I’ll have to make do with my own playlist.

    • negative1 says:

      why bother? this is their best material. none of their later material could match it in quality.

      • Eric says:

        Completism, maybe. I might agree that 1979-1987 was their finest era, but I would still like to have the rest of the material together.

  9. Charles Hodgson says:

    Would love a complete BBC recordings collection. Particularly the two ‘work in progress’ 1983 Peel Sessions that predated the ‘Ocean Rain’ LP. They were so good they spoiled that LP for me when it eventually arrived, rendering the final versions (I supose, inevitably) ‘overblown’.

    • Iain McCarthy says:

      Re to Charles Hodgson:

      There was a limited edition version of ‘Evergreen’ in 1997 that had an extra 10-track CD with Peel Sessions on it. I think it may have had a couple of tracks from the session you are after.

    • peter says:

      The great History of the Peel Sessions that came with the special edition of Evergreen includes Seven Seas from 20-06-1983 and Ocean Rain and Nocturnal Me from 24-10-1983.
      Maybe Seven Seas was one of the songs you listened to on the radio that predated the ‘Ocean Rain’ LP.

  10. omar says:

    I’m assuming that these are not ‘newly’ remastered, and infact may use the 2003 versions.

  11. Cal says:

    Any word on the mastering? Some of their comps have had a terrible sound.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *