Pet Shop Boys / Format / B-sides compilation coming soon

Pet Shop Boys / Format / B-side compilation coming soonPet Shop Boys will release a brand new B-sides compilation on 6 February. Entitled Format, the release collects tracks from 1996-2009 and follows on from the 1995 release Alternative which collected the duo’s b-sides from 1985 to 1994.

Pet Shop Boys are one of the dwindling number of acts who still support the CD single as a format, often releasing one CD with a new b-side and one with remixes and/or more bonus tracks. Hence the subtitle “B-sides and bonus tracks” on this release.

Even if you own all the CD singles, you might still be tempted, since all tracks have been remastered, and as usual the whole package has been expertly designed by Farrow. The CD booklet also features an interview with Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe by Jon Savage.

Format is available on CD and download.

Full track listing below. Format can be pre-ordered here.


  • 1 The truck driver and his mate
  • 2 Hit and miss
  • 3 In the night (1995)
  • 4 Betrayed
  • 5 Discoteca (New Version)
  • 6 How I learned to hate rock ‘n’ roll
  • 7 The calm before the storm
  • 8 Confidential (Demo for Tina)
  • 9 The boy who couldn’t keep his clothes on
  • 10 Delusions of grandeur
  • 11 The view from your balcony
  • 12 Disco potential
  • 13 Silver age
  • 14 Screaming
  • 15 The ghost of myself
  • 16 Casting a shadow
  • 17 Lies
  • 18 Sexy Northerner


  • 1 Always
  • 2 Nightlife
  • 3 Searching for the face of Jesus
  • 4 Between two islands
  • 5 Friendly fire
  • 6 We’re the Pet Shop Boys
  • 7 Transparent
  • 8 I didn’t get where I am today
  • 9 The Resurrectionist
  • 10 Girls don’t cry
  • 11 In private (7-inch mix): Pet Shop Boys with Elton John
  • 12 Blue on blue
  • 13 No time for tears (7-inch mix)
  • 14 Bright young things
  • 15 Party song
  • 16 We’re all criminals now
  • 17 Gin and Jag
  • 18 After the event
  • 19 The former enfant terrible
  • 20 Up and down

5 responses to Pet Shop Boys / Format / B-sides compilation coming soon

  1. Pingback:Pet Shop Boys – Format: B-Sides and bonus tracks 1996-2009 (2012) | exystence

  2. Tim Larkham says:

    Just a slight correction to your post in that six of the tracks on the second disc have never been commercially available on CD in the UK. Nightlife was released as the extra track on the Home And Dry DVD single (remember them?) and Friendly Fire on the DVD single of I Get Along. Girls Don’t Cry appeared on both the DVD and 7” single of I’m With Stupid. Blue On Blue and No Time For Tears appeared on the DVD single of Minimal. We’re All Criminals Now was only available digitally via iTunes.

    Unfortunately, Format is a bit of a missed opportunity in that the 7” mix of Fugitive (from the non-UK Beautiful People single) is not included. Also missing are the additional tracks from the Christmas E.P. and Together single. Although given the years covered in the title the b-sides/extra tracks from Together may be held over until their next B-side compilation in approximately 2025! Also, both tracks from the Record Store Day single of Love Life could have been included but again that was released in 2010 so most probably out of scope of this release.

    2012 looks to be a good year for PSB fans with the forthcoming ballet dates in March and a new studio album due sometime this year, although I’ve no word on producer(s) or song titles.

    Oh, and by the way, great site!

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Hi Tim – thanks for the additional info. In some ways this gives fans more reason to buy the compilation with more tracks ‘new to CD’ so to speak.

      “Alternative” will always have much more resonance for me that this, mainly because it covers the ‘classic’ era and in those days b-sides (and singles for that matter) meant something.

      PSB still treat the single with rare respect which should be applauded, but I fear it is only a matter of time when they go the download-only route which will be a sad day indeed.

      I think Neil Tennant really misses the days of 7inch double-packs (Suburbia), Limited Remix 12inches (most of their 80s output), and 10″ (West End Girls/It’s Alright) as much as the fans.

  3. Eddie says:

    Is there a corresponding Greatest Hits for that period?

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      “Ultimate Pet Shop Boys” from 2010 is a one disc offering that covers their entire career including “Yes” their last studio album in 2009. There was a limited CD+DVD version that was well work seeking out since it had many unreleased TV performances from the BBC plus their Glastonbury gig.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *