The Ramones / The Sire Years 1976-1981 box set


Rhino have recently issued this six disc Ramones box set.

The Sire Years 1976-1981 collects the band’s first six albums: Ramones (1976), Leave Home (1977), Rocket To Russia (1977), Road To Ruin (1978), End Of The Century (1980), and Pleasant Dreams (1981).

None of the albums feature any bonus material and use the 2002 masters. In total 79 tracks feature and this is currently priced at less than £20 on Amazon UK which feels like a good deal.

The Sire Years 1976-1981 is out now.

5 responses to The Ramones / The Sire Years 1976-1981 box set

  1. Killian Scott says:

    Animal Boy and Halfway To Sanity have never been remastered.

  2. fedge says:

    Well, if Volume two included the rest of the 80s albums, I’d be happy with remastered versions of those in a box (Subterranean Jungle, Too Tough To Die, Animal Boy, Halfway To Sanity and Brain Drain. Maybe Warner Bros. considers these albums “unessential” or something.

  3. David Olstein says:

    I assume there’s not going to be a volume 2. Why thcouldn’t they simply issue a “Complete Sire Years” box set and be done with it?

  4. Barry says:

    ‘Leave Home’ had a couple of different incarnations so the error is understandable albeit disappointing. Still, it sounds like this box contains the original album; I’ll pick this up at some stage as I only have the debut and RtR.

  5. fedge says:

    The bottom of the box itself has the track lists but there’s an error on the Leave Home track list – track 5 is Carbona Not Glue *NOT Sheena Is A Punk Rocker. Sheena is on the following album in the box, Rocket To Russia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *