Deal Alert / David Bowie: Five Years 12CD deluxe box set


The 12CD version of David Bowie‘s Five Years box set has held firm at a fairly premium price point ever since David’s death in January. However today on Amazon France it’s the cheapest it has ever been….

The box, which gathers up studio albums and live albums from 1969-1973 – as well as the exclusive double-disc compilation Re:Call 1 – is just £60 (or €70) on the French site, having been £120 when first released! A fantastic bargain!



Compare prices and pre-order

David Bowie

Five Years (1969 - 1973)


In The Box:

  • • David Bowie AKA Space Oddity*
  • • The Man Who Sold The World*
  • • Hunky Dory*
  • • The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars
  • • Aladdin Sane
  • • Pin Ups*
  • • Live Santa Monica ‘72
  • • Ziggy Stardust: The Motion Picture Soundtrack
  • • The Rise and Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars (2003 Ken Scott mix)
  • • Re:Call 1 (2CD set)

Re:Call 1 tracklisting


  1. Space Oddity (original UK mono single edit)*
  2. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (original UK mono single version)*
  3. Ragazzo Solo, Ragazza Sola
  4. The Prettiest Star (original mono single version)*
  5. Conversation Piece*
  6. Memory Of A Free Festival (Part 1)
  7. Memory Of A Free Festival (Part 2)
  8. All The Madmen (mono single edit)* previously unreleased
  9. Janine*
  10. Holy Holy (original mono single version)* only ever issued on original ‘71 Mercury single
  11. Moonage Daydream (The Arnold Corns single version)*
  12. Hang On To Yourself (The Arnold Corns single version)*

CD 2

  1. Changes (mono single version)*
  2. Andy Warhol (mono single version)*
  3. Starman (original single mix)
  4. John, I’m Only Dancing (original single version)
  5. The Jean Genie (original single mix)
  6. Drive-In Saturday (German single edit)
  7. Round And Round
  8. John, I’m Only Dancing (sax version)
  9. Time (U.S. single edit)
  10. Amsterdam
  11. Holy Holy (Spiders version)
  12. Velvet Goldmine

All tracks stereo except *mono.


23 responses to Deal Alert / David Bowie: Five Years 12CD deluxe box set

  1. William says:

    Just reading about this ‘unreleased’ Bowie album ‘The Gouster’ which will be on the follow up box set to ‘Five Years’ called ‘who can I be now?’ 1974-1976 (i preferred Pauls idea of calling it Golden Years) really looking forward to hearing this early take on Young Americans.

    • El Barto says:

      Indeed, and the news about Gouster made me even more worried about content of second boxset. This being actually only novelty album with the same songs with new photo on the cover. So considering that, and the span of the boxset, how many REAL albums we’ll we get this time, two? three? (plus one live)? Comparing to five years (6 studio albums) it doesn’t sound very promising. I only hope it would be significantly cheaper thent 5 years. Oh well, we’ll see next week with the official anouncement.

  2. PeterJH says:

    Damn, I missed it!

  3. gwynogue says:

    Got it! Just over $100AUD – more than I would like to pay, but I can’t imagine I’d get it any cheaper. It’s a great bargain, but because I already have them (apart from ‘Recall’, ‘Ziggy’ soundtrack and ‘Ziggy’ Ken Scott/2003) I feel like I’m paying for something I already have which takes some of the ‘bargain’ out of it.

    Oh well, my ‘already-haves’ are the 1999 re-issues – they have a bad rep, so this will be worth it. I just can’t help being a grumbler!

    Plus I can get some money back by flogging my ’99-ers on eBay (for a reasonable price of course!)

    • Le Baron says:

      @gwynogue: sold them all (the complete 99 remasters collection, from Space Oddity to Tin Machine) for about 100 euros last november.

  4. Martijn says:

    Geez. I bought it 2 weeks ago from when I thought it already had a very good price of €90 delivered. But this price of €75 delivered would’ve been even better. Oh well, I got it at a price I’m happy with and am really enjoying the set (what I’ve heard so far), so I can’t complain too much. :)

  5. Pim says:

    Ordered. Got the vinyl box from for (I think) 115 euros – also via an SDE deal :)

  6. baward says:

    ChristopherM, thats precisely what I mean. I should have been clearer.

  7. karl says:

    K Pow!!!

  8. Mike Pendlebury says:

    Just over £58 shipped to the US! Been waiting patiently for it come down to this price (at times it never felt like it would!). Thanks SDE!

  9. baward says:

    Us UK citizens might have to be even more eagle-eyed about deals like this, if the importation ri=ules change in the light of Brexit.

    • ChristopherM says:

      Actually, baward, these deals will probably become far more expensive if/when the UK leaves the EU’s free trade area. Any French/German/Italian/Spanish etc CD package costing over £15 will most likely be subject to UK VAT, import duties and extortionate carrier “handling” charges.

      • Dean B. says:

        The EU insists on the charging of VAT. Once we leave the Government would be allowed to abolish value added tax!

        • Matt says:

          And how do you think everything done by Government is paid for? The difference will be that you have to pay it on import (as currently if you order from the US) and get a fee on top for the privilege …

  10. Tracey says:

    Wow! Great price from amazon FR to the US. Wish I’d waited…

  11. Mark says:

    Presumably the book is written in English rather than French? Can anyone confirm?

  12. Martin says:

    Grabbed last week a real bargain

  13. Boaz Halachmi says:

    59 Euro after VAT deduction… Fantastic! Thanks, Paul!

    • Ciaran says:

      I posted about this yesterday on the French deals post from last week (found through the wonderful SDE site of course!) It’s a great price and looking forward to listening to it.

  14. Carl says:

    Thanks Paul, just ordered, £65 to UK

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *