Norah Jones at the London Palladium


Norah Jones entertained a sell out crowd in the heart of London’s West End last night as she performed the one and only UK date of her Day Breaks World Tour.

The beautiful London Palladium was a fine venue in which to hear the singer-songwriter, whose stage set-up was keep very simple, with a quartet of musicians arranged in a semi-circle around her and the grand piano. Referencing the fact that she was performing in a theatre, she laughed when quizzing the audience “they tell me you have binoculars? Is that true?”

The setlist was heavy with tracks from her excellent Day Breaks album with highlights including a rendition of her Neil Young cover Don’t Be Denied and Flipside. Leonard Cohen was remembered with a rendition of Everybody Knows, a track from his 1988 album I’m Your Man.


Jones ignored convention, performing her signature song Don’t Know Why right in the middle of the set, just before a hypnotic solo piano version of Little Broken Hearts, the title track of her Danger Mouse-produced 2012 album (another fine album).

There was little in the way of chit-chat with Norah preferring to let the music do the talking and after around 75 minutes, the evening’s entertainment was concluded with Jones and the band standing at the front of the stage gathered around one mic, performing three acoustic numbers, including Sunrise and Creepin’ In from 2004’s Feels Like Home.

The Day Breaks tour continues in Paris tonight. The album is out now.

Compare prices and pre-order

Norah Jones

Day Breaks CD


Compare prices and pre-order

Norah Jones

Day Breaks Vinyl LP



Day Breaks track listing

  • 1. Burn
  • 2. Tragedy
  • 3. Flipside
  • 4. It’s A Wonderful Time For Love
  • 5. And Then There Was You
  • 6. Don’t Be Denied
  • 7. Day Breaks
  • 8. Peace
  • 9. Once I Had A Laugh
  • 10. Sleeping Wild
  • 11. Carry On
  • 12. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)

7 responses to Norah Jones at the London Palladium

  1. James says:

    I really hope Norah finds the time to relax and recuperate after such a long and exhausting UK leg of her world tour.

    Maybe on the next tour she can play a total of 100 minutes.

  2. Eugene says:

    Love her work but 75 mins is too short to me for the price of her shows.

  3. Mark Hanson says:

    Target has a deluxe “Day Breaks” CD including four live bonus tracks (three from the album, and “Don’t Know Why”).

Leave a Reply to Paul Sinclair Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *