Bob Dylan / Before The Flood SACD


While we wait for the ‘Complete’ Bob Dylan and The Band Basement Tapes sessions to be released in November, audiophile specialists Mobile Fidelity will follow up their summer vinyl issue of the same album by preparing a double SACD package of Before The Flood, the 1974 live set from Dylan and The Band.

Before The Flood documents the joint 1974 live tour which followed after The Band and Dylan had worked on Planet Waves (released at the very beginning of that year). Despite this, no material from that album ended up on the 21 track live album which was notable for reworked arrangements of Dylan classics such as Like A Rolling Stones and All Along The Watchtower. The recordings on Before The Flood were largely taken from the final three shows in Los Angeles.

Before The Flood is due for release on SACD on 31 October 2014

Disc: 1
1. Most Likely You Go Your Way (And I’ll Go Mine)
2. Lay Lady Lay
3. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
4. Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door
5. It Ain’t Me Babe
6. Ballad of a Thin Man
7. Up on Cripple Creek
8. I Shall Be Released
9. Endless Highway
10. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
11. Stage Fright

Disc: 2
1. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
2. Just Like a Woman
3. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
4. The Shape I’m In
5. When You Awake
6. The Weight
7. All Along the Watchtower
8. Highway 61 Revisited
9. Like a Rolling Stone
10. Blowin’ in the Wind

5 responses to Bob Dylan / Before The Flood SACD

  1. Fat Old Bloke says:

    There is a huge fan made box of the complete 1974 concerts with the band mostly in SBD. This would make a great bootleg series box set. Shame this is not in 5.1

  2. Richie says:

    I second that Paul.

  3. Paul says:

    How about releasing a version with the entire concert, as opposed to excerpts??? I’ll pass on this one.

  4. Richie says:

    Can`t see the point of spending over 40 quid on a live recording that I already have on vinyl and remastered CD. Sure SACD is worth having for some recordings but not B.T.F.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *