Frankie Goes To Hollywood / “Frankie Said” / hits compilation

Frankie Goes To Hollywood / Frankie Said hits compilation

After a couple of years of ZTT archival projects that have resulted largely in 2CD expanded deluxe reissues and twelve inch compilations, Salvo Records are keeping things relatively simple this autumn with a series of one-disc ‘best of’ collections.

Two weeks ago came Propaganda‘s Noise And Girls Come Out To Playa greatest hits selection for the masses, with enough unreleased edits and quirkiness to keep the faithful interested. In the same vein Frankie Goes To Hollywood‘s hits are gathered on to one compact disc and will be released as Frankie Said on 5 November 2012.

All seven singles are present and correct (Salvo are claiming eight, with War! counted as a single due to its double A-side status on 12-inch) including the three number ones from the Welcome To The Pleasuredome albumSome album tracks and a live cut are also included.

A few CD debuts should be enough to encourage fans to dip into their Frankie slush fund and place an order for Frankie Said. Previously unreleased on CD tracks include Relax (the last seven inches), a promo-only mix also known as the Warp Mix, and a seven-inch version of the Warriors Of The Wasteland Attack Mix. Two Tribes (we don’t want to die) is the relatively rare seven-inch picture disc mix, and a Frankie compilation wouldn’t be complete without a few twelve inch mixes, with remastered versions of the classic Annihilation and New York remixes of Two Tribes and Relax respectively, doing the honours.

UK Pre-order: Frankie Said
GERMANY Pre-order: Frankie Said

Track listing:

  • 1. Two Tribes (introduced via the piano of Anne Dudley)
  • 2. The Power of Love
  • 3. Relax (the last seven inches)
  • 4. Two Tribes (we don’t want to die)
  • 5. War!
  • 6. Welcome to the Pleasuredome (a remade world)
  • 7. Ferry Cross The Mersey (and here I’ll stay)
  • 8. Rage Hard (Bob K remix)
  • 9. Watching the Wildlife
  • 10. Born to Run (live on The Tube)
  • 11. Warriors of the Wasteland (attack) seven inch
  • 12. Kill the Pain
  • 13. Maximum Joy
  • 14. Two Tribes (annihilation) twelve inch
  • 15. Relax (New York) twelve inch
  • 16. The Power of Love (…best listened to by lovers)

14 responses to Frankie Goes To Hollywood / “Frankie Said” / hits compilation

  1. Pingback:Frankie Goes To Hollywood / “Frankie Said” deluxe CD+DVD | superdeluxeedition

  2. Pingback:The Organization of Pop / US ZTT compilation out next month | superdeluxeedition

  3. Pingback:Record Store Day 2013 beckons | superdeluxeedition

  4. Pingback:Christmas Advent Competition / Day Eight: The Prize | superdeluxeedition

  5. Pingback:Frankie Goes to Hollywood / Frankie Said (Japan Edition) | superdeluxeedition

  6. Pingback:Out this week… | superdeluxeedition

  7. James Pigg says:


    Are you aware of the 2 disc version of this that is being released in Japan only (XECZ-1045) ? It is promising a bonus disc of “rare tracks” but these don’t seem to have been made public yet. Can you find out?

  8. Cal says:

    Worth it just for the last seven inches of relax, finally i can put the vinyl away.

  9. Stephen says:

    Looks good.

  10. Gazelle says:

    Typically, news of a FGTH release generates plenty of questions:

    (i) Is ‘A Remade World’ a previously unreleased 80’s mix of ‘Welcome To The Pleasuredome’?

    (ii) Or is ‘A Remade World’ merely an alternative title of a previously released mix: (1) Original album version; (2) ‘Pleasure Fix’ from ‘The Power Of Love’ second 12″ single; (3) ‘Altered Real’ from WTTPD first 7″ single; (4) ‘Alternative Reel’ from WTTPD second 7″ single and shaped picture disc; (5) ‘Real Altered’ from WTTPD first 12″ single; (6) ‘The Alternative’ (a.k.a. ‘Fruitness’) from WTTPD second 12″ single; (7) ‘The Soundtrack from Bernard Rose’s Video’ from WTTPD cassette single; (8) ‘How To Remake The World’ from WTTPD cassette single; (9) ‘Urban’ (a.k.a. ‘Tribal’) from 1985 Japanese ‘Bang!’ compilation album?

    (iii) And in the wake of the ‘Sex Mix’ debacle, will ‘A Remade World’ be in true stereo?

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Previously unreleased or 3 or 4 the most likely. Don’t see this as a 12″ long version. I will know tomorrow (hopefully) because one of these discs is on they way to me :)

  11. omar says:

    If it’s all the correct 7″ mixes ,then i’m definitely in it for the sheer joy. I’m wondering whether or not the WTTPD mix is the correct one. I thought it was called “An Altered Reality”.

  12. Tyler says:


  13. dominic says:

    I’m really looking forward to this, especially for only £4.99.
    Pre internet days i could just not figure out how I could get hold of a copy of the version of Two Tribes that i used to have on my cassette of Now That’s What I Call Music 3 which, to my ears, was so much better than the version on 7″ or the album. Only in the last couple of years have i delved back into my Frankie fandom & found out how to get hold of that mix, pic disc & quiet CD single from the early 90s, so I’m extremely happy to get this hopefully remastered version and add it to my Frankie library.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *