John Mellencamp: 1978-2012 box


Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) will issue John Mellencamp 1978-2012, a 19 disc box set in December 2013.

This is effectively the entire studio catalogue, and includes all the American singer-songwriter’s albums recorded as John Cougar, John Cougar Mellencamp and John Mellencamp for various record labels.

The set contains a total of 223 tracks and spans 35 years. Twelve of the albums have bonus tracks, sourced from the 2005 re-mastered versions of Mellencamp’s Mercury releases.

1978-2012 is issued on 10 December 2013.

In the box set

  • John Cougar (1979)
  • Nothin’ Matters and What If It Did (1980)
  • American Fool (1982)
  • Uh-Huh (1983)
  • Scarecrow (1985)
  • The Lonesome Jubilee (1987)
  • Big Daddy (1989)
  • Whenever We Wanted (1991)
  • Falling From Grace: Original Soundtrack Album (1992)
  • Human Wheels (1993)
  • Dance Naked (1994)
  • Mr. Happy Go Lucky (1996)
  • John Mellencamp (1998)
  • Rough Harvest (1999)
  • Cuttin’ Heads (2001)
  • Trouble No More (2003)
  • Freedom’s Road (2007)
  • Live, Death, Love and Freedom (2008)
  • No Better Than This (2010)

9 responses to John Mellencamp: 1978-2012 box

  1. Carl says:

    I love John Mellencamp’s music but this SDE is very disappointing. Packaging is sparse and there are no extras. C’mon John you can do better than this!

  2. Pingback:Overpriced and underwhelming: Mellencamp box not worth the wait | superdeluxeedition

  3. Pingback:DEAL OF THE DAY: John Mellencamp: 1978-2012 box set | superdeluxeedition

  4. Tim H says:

    Would LOVE this and saw it (albeit very briefly) on for £83…didnt stay that price for long…I know, why didnt I order it!!!

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      It was going to be ‘deal of the day’ today, but like you say, it wasn’t that price for long enough!!

  5. jo says:

    Why not packing not in original sleeves? These black cd’s look íf he already is dead. I bought the Clash boxset. Same problem. Wake up record companies. If you reissue some records please in original record sleeves not some coloured crap.

  6. Eric says:

    There’s also a 1982-1989 5CD boxset on amazon, so this is obviously not going to be straightforward for UK fans, haha.

    I’ll check the other links, as I just want to get an idea of how much this might be, even though the price will probably go up and down a few times before release (see: Roger Taylor).

  7. Eric says:

    Very stylish-looking set!

    The UK amazon pre-order isn’t working, though. It still shows as not yet available.

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Yes… not sure when it’s going to be available in the UK. The Amazon Germany link is a decent alternative. They are often cheaper than the UK and shipping is very low.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *