Neil Young / Roxy: Tonight’s The Night Live / 2LP vinyl of unreleased set

Although listed as a Record Store Day special release in the UK, Neil Young‘s Roxy: Tonight’s The Night Live is freely available to order in the USA on double vinyl, and it’s very cheap, too.

The Tonight’s The Night album was recorded in mid-1973 with the ‘Santa Monica Flyers’ who were Nils Lofgren (piano), Ben Keith (pedal steel guitar), Billy Talbot (bass) and Ralph Molina (drums). The album wasn’t released until 1975 but not long after it was recorded Neil and his band head decided to play it live. Here’s what Neil has to say about it:

“We had finished recording and decided to celebrate with a gig at a new club opening on the Sunset Strip, Roxy. We went there and recorded for a few nights, opening Roxy We really knew the Tonight’s the Night songs after playing them for a month, so we just played them again, the album, top to bottom, without the added songs, two sets a night for a few days. We had a great time.”

The ‘added songs’ Young refers to are Borrowed Tune, Come on Baby Let’s Go Downtown and Lookout Joe which were added to the studio the album, but not part of those original sessions (or the live performance). Walk On would end up on 1974’s On The Beach.

None of these live recordings have been released before and with Neil Young vinyl notoriously expensive, this double album is a bargain at $26 on Amazon US – that’s about £19.

Roxy: Tonight’s The Night Live is released in the US on 24 April and will also be for sale in the UK on Record Store Day on 21 April.

Compare prices and pre-order

Neil Young

ROXY: Tonight's the Night Live [VINYL]


1. Tonight’s The Night
2. Mellow My Mind
3. World On A String
4. Speakin’ Out
5. Albuquerque
6. New Mama
7. Roll Another Number (For The Road)
8. Tired Eyes
9. Tonight’s The Night
10. Walk On

29 responses to Neil Young / Roxy: Tonight’s The Night Live / 2LP vinyl of unreleased set

  1. Iain McCarthy says:

    Seemed to be quite a few copies of this left in Monorail in Glasgow. I got myself one today.

  2. Miguel Rocha says:

    If the exclusive RSD photo is the deciding factor, it’s only a print reproduction of the inner gatefold sleeve. If you love Neil Young’s mid-70s output, you will not be disappointed by this record! The packaging is consistent with the original release of Tonight’s The Night, in a nice, matte gatefold sleeve, and black labels on the vinyl. The music is, of course, phenomenal, and they’ve left in Neil’s often entertaining interactions with the audience.

  3. Robert says:

    As I understand, the Record Store Day release contains a print. I don’t know if the widely released version will have that print.

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      The RSD label clearly says it’s exclusive, so the normal version shouldn’t really have it.

  4. Justin Isbell says:

    I was just about to order this CD on amazon UK (£9.99) when I spotted that the “added songs” (Borrowed Tune et al) weren’t on the disc. Does anyone know if they’re vinyl only or are there some CD editions out there with these tracks? Cheers…

  5. Ex-Oligarch says:

    It is odd to see this club referred to as “Roxy.” In my memory, as someone who regularly attended shows there going back to 1979 or so, it was always “the Roxy” or more formally “the Roxy Theatre” (with the British spelling).

  6. Jim C says:

    Amazon Italia just cancelled my order – wrong pricing given as reason.

  7. Paul Taylor says:

    €5.29 on Amazon Italy??

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Never going to be honoured. Something is really amiss with Amazon Italy right now… this is happening on lots of products.

  8. mitchell feldstein says:

    really want this. i think i will just go for the cd as it is a live recording etc.

  9. CraigH says:

    Vinyl, CD plus tshirt bundle on the official NY UK store. Also Paradox CD and LP..

  10. Bobbyjean says:

    Neil young and the promise of the real paradox soundtrack is available to pre order on amazon uk . cd vinyl.vinyl is £25.28…apparently it’s a live recording

  11. Kevin M says:

    Thank you Paul.

  12. David says:

    It is a ‘RSD First’ release and even that is “limited” to 7500, so this one will be widely available this year, same as “Harvest Moon” was. So at the moment its 29 Euro (including shipping) from Amazon US. I am pretty sure you will be able to get this for around 20 Euro via some sellers on Amazon Europe if you wait (as was Harvest Moon).

    • Paul Wren says:

      And don’t forget importation taxes at 18% plus possible HM Customs handling charge of £8 if the importation tax isn’t paid at point of sale.

      • Paul Sinclair says:

        As I’ve said quite a few times, this risk is gone now ordering from Amazon US. The $29 David refers to includes shipping and pre-paid taxes. There are no extra charges at all.

  13. steve gilmour says:

    Any chance you can do a pre order for the David Sylvian Dead Bees RSD vinyl…dont know how to get it in Oz??? Plus any UK pre order on Wishbone Ash set?

  14. Neil McL says:

    This is the RSD UK blurb for this –

    Tonight’s The Night Live was taped during a short run of shows at LA’s Roxy venue in 1973, just afterYoung and his band at the time (Billy Talbot, Nils Lofgren, Ralph Molina and Ben Keith AKA The Santa Monica Flyers) had recorded Tonight’s The Night. Three side black vinyl album with engraving on side D. Gatefold package with insert and limited edition photo for RSD only

    So it may be that the US version does not have the limited edition photo. This may be the only difference by the looks of things

  15. Richard Lamming says:

    £29 with shipping and customs to UK. Still a tad short of the £35 some UK independents are estimating the RSD cost will be.

  16. Electric Sydney says:

    Is it known if this will be released on CD?

  17. Aaron says:

    Paradox soundtrack out soon also!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *