Robert Palmer / “Collected” on 2LP vinyl


Universal Netherlands’ excellent three-CD set, Robert Palmer Collected is being put out as a double vinyl set by Music On Vinyl in November.

Obviously, this two-LP edition has to boil down the 56 tracks on the triple-CD set dramatically (to 27) but there’s still space for it to go a little off-piste towards the end of the second LP by including Vinegar Joe‘s Never Met A Dog and The Power Station‘s Some Like It Hot.

Almost all of Palmer’s studio albums are represented here, although there is nothing from his last effort Drive (2003), 1999’s Rhythm & Blues, or the exquisite Big Band stylings of Ridin’ High (1992). Arguably, Sneaking Sally Though The Alley is rather under represented, with just the title track flying the flag for Robert’s superb 1974 debut.

Nevertheless, all the hits are here and I’ll be picking this up, because – probably like many of you – my Robert Palmer vinyl collection is pretty slim at this moment in time.

This vinyl edition of Collected comes in a gatefold sleeve with a 4-page insert/booklet. It is out on 2LP vinyl on 11 November 2016.

Compare prices and pre-order

Robert Palmer

Collected (Gatefold sleeve) [180 gm 2LP vinyl]



LP 1
1. Sneakin’ Sally Through The Alley
2. Give Me An Inch
3. Which Of Us Is The Fool
4. Man Smart, Woman Smarter
5. Every Kinda People
6. Best Of Both Worlds
7. What’s It Take?
8. Bad Case Of Loving You (Doctor, Doctor)
9. Can We Still Be Friends?
10. Johnny And Mary
11. Looking For Clues
12. Some Guys Have All The Luck
13. You Are In My System
14. You Can Have It

LP 2
1. Pride
2. Riptide
3. Addicted To Love
4. I Didn’t Mean To Turn You On
5. Simply Irresistible
6. She Makes My Day
7. Change His Ways
8. Mercy Mercy Me / I Want You
9. You Blow Me Away
10. Respect Yourself
11. Never Met A Dog (Vinegar Joe)
12. Some Like It Hot (The Power Station)
13. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight Ft UB40

3 responses to Robert Palmer / “Collected” on 2LP vinyl

  1. Gary Finkenbiner says:

    Don’t bother, if it is released by Music On Vinyl, justbuy the CD, it will sound better. MOV sucks for sound quality. What a waste. I will never buy anything released by them. Bootleggers who all of sudden have creds, BS if you ask me.

  2. Simon Taylor says:

    That’s not too bad upon first look at the tracklisting. Pricey though. I have a few of the early albums on vinyl, they are fairly easy to find in the secondhand racks and very worthy if you can find cheap. I would be interested but price will have to drop which is unlikely.

    November release schedule is utter madness. I keep listing items in a spreadsheet “Christmas List 2016” and its getting very long. Much will have to be cut out. Only the best will survive.

    At least there’s potential for some amazon bargains sometime in the new year…………….hopefully.

  3. Tim L says:

    No Drive? No sale.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *