Robert Palmer: Expanded EMI period albums coming from Edsel

Robert Palmer / EMI Heavy Nova / Don't Explain / Ridin' High / Honey reissues

Edsel will be releasing four albums across two 2CD sets

Having recently mused on the fact that Robert Palmer has been somewhat forgotten by the music industry, it was a pleasant surprise only days later to learn of some new reissues coming from Edsel Records in November.

The Demon Music imprint will be re-issuing all of Robert Palmer’s EMI era albums, but curiously, the records in question are being paired and released as two-CD sets. The configurations are as follows

  • • First 2CD set: Heavy Nova (+ bonus tracks) coupled with Don’t Explain (+ bonus tracks)
  • • Second 2CD set: Ridin’ High (no bonus tracks) coupled with Honey (+ bonus tracks)

Heavy Nova (1988) comes with four bonus tracks, two remixes of the US number two, Simply Irresistible (Extended Mix and E.T. remix), the ‘Wed 9PM Mix’ of Change His Ways and Nova, a non-album track that was originally the B-side to Simple Irresistible.

Don’t Explain‘s (1990) extras include 12-inch remixes for all three singles (I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight, Mercy Mercy Me/I Want You, and Happiness, along with three further non-album B-sides in Deep End, Oh Yeah and All Shook Up.

Ridin’ High (1992) is the standard 16-track release and Honey (1994) is appended with two remixes of single You Blow Me Away (Remix Edit and Alge Mix), the ‘Pinaxa Mix’ of Know By Know, and non-album track In The Stars.

The pairing of these albums is interesting because Don’t Explain and Ridin’ High are really the natural bedfellows, but have been denied this partnership, probably due to commercial considerations. The second half of Don’t Explain is almost entirely made of the jazzy ‘big band’ style arrangements that Palmer would go on to explore fully on Ridin’ High. Indeed, Aeroplane – an superb Palmer composition –  appears on both albums in quite similar arrangements.

Heavy Nova is well known because it benefitted from the momentum generated by Riptide, the last Island Records album, and Palmer’s commercial breakthrough, thanks to Addicted to Love and I Didn’t Mean To Turn You On. That’s not to say that Heavy Nova doesn’t contain big hits of its own. Simply Irresistible was a massive US chart success, although those in the UK were more enamoured with She Makes My Day, which broke into the top ten in 1988 (incredibly, Simple Irresistible didn’t make the top 40). Honey, the final EMI album, wasn’t a big success with only minor hits in 1994.

These reissues will be released on 19 November 2012.

Robert Palmer / EMI Heavy Nova / Don't Explain / Ridin' High / Honey reissues

Click to enlarge

9 responses to Robert Palmer: Expanded EMI period albums coming from Edsel

  1. Pingback:Robert Palmer reissues coming up - here's Simply Irresistable - Erik Valebrokk

  2. AlanDistro says:

    Put my preorders in, wish we were able to get Riptide too though, with the 12″ remixes attached. =)

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Yes, unfortunately on Island of course, and all the Island stuff is in some kind of limbo.

      • julian says:

        problems withRP’s estate has barred release of his back catalogue – maybe this is a sign things are moving – there are great out-takes from the Island albums – inc a version of Little Feat’s Willin’ done in sessions for 1st album (Sneaking Sally) …. fingers crossed we get remasters soon …

  3. mike says:

    i would argue Virgin were not very good actually – T’Pau, Belinda Carlisle (bar Heaven), Julia Fordham, Breathe, Scritti to mention a few? Werent Dolby and Eurythmics on EMI and RCA respectively.

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Eurythmics were RCA. Nice packaging and did the best they could with the limitation of one CD but their catalog in dire need of some proper archival reissues. Dave Stewart told me that there was no chance of a decent 25th anniversary of Savage this year due to, and I quote, “Usual label stuff”..

  4. Tom says:

    So glad to see Robert Palmer’s albums getting the deluxe treatment. I love “Heavy Nova”.

    I hope these will be remastered, and if so, remastered properly.

  5. Stephen says:

    Well done. Next, you should bemoan the lack of deluxe Scritti Politti reissues. Virgin does such a good job with having their artists’ music repackaged… Human League and Heaven 17 material… and Simple Minds… and OMD. Thomas Dolby, Culture Club, Eurythmics, EBTG, Kirsty MacColl,.. Surely it is time for Songs To Remember, Cupid & Psyche, and Provision to get their bonus tracks released on CD!

    • Apollo Zero says:

      I guess with Riptide still in print as a super cheap cd, there is no way to license it.

      I have to agree about Virgin and Scritti Politti reissues.. Heaven 17’s catalog is now on its second remaster deluxe editons.. sigh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *