Van Morrison / Moondance 4CD+Blu-ray Audio deluxe set

Van Morrison / Moondance 4CD+Blu-ray Audio deluxe edition

Warner Bros. Music will reissue a FIVE DISC deluxe edition of Van Morrison‘s classic 1970 album Moondance on 30 September 2013.

As well as a newly remastered version of the album, this set includes three further CDs with multiple takes of the album tracks and a fifth Blu-ray Audio disc that contains the entire remastered album in hi-res stereo and surround sound.

A two-CD expanded edition is also available, with the second disc offering ‘highlights’ of the outtakes available on the deluxe set. At the time of writing only US-pre-orders up on Amazon. We’ll update this post when that changes.

5-disc Deluxe Edition
• UK Pre-order: Moondance Deluxe Edition (4CDs + Blu-ray Audio)
• USA Pre-order: Moondance Deluxe Edition (4 CDs +  Blu-Ray Audio)

2-CD Expanded Edition
• UK Pre-order: Moondance
• USA Pre-order: Moondance Expanded Edition (2 CD)

Standard single disc remaster
• • USA Pre-order: Moondance Remastered Standard Edition

FIVE DISC deluxe edition  track listing:

Disc One – Original Album Remastered

  • 1. “And It Stoned Me”
  • 2. “Moondance”
  • 3. “Crazy Love”
  • 4. “Caravan”
  • 5. “Into The Mystic”
  • 6. “Come Running”
  • 7. “These Dreams Of You”
  • 8. “Brand New Day”
  • 9. “Everyone”
  • 10. “Glad Tidings”

Disc Two – All Previously Unreleased 

  • 1. “What do we call this Van?”
  • 2. “Caravan” (Take 1)
  • 3. “Caravan” (Takes 2-3)
  • 4. “Caravan” (Take 4)
  • 5. “Caravan” (Takes 5-6)
  • 6. “Caravan” (Take 7)
  • 7. “Caravan” (Take 8)
  • 8. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Take 1)
  • 9. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Take 2)
  • 10. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Take 5)
  • 11. “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Outtake)
  • 12. “I Shall Sing” (Take 1)
  • 13. “I Shall Sing” (Takes 2-3)
  • 14. “I Shall Sing” (Takes 4-6)
  • 15. “I Shall Sing” (Take 7)
  • 16. “I Shall Sing” (Takes 8-12)
  • 17. “I Shall Sing” (Take 13)

Disc Three – All Previously Unreleased

  • 1. “Into The Mystic” (Take 10)
  • 2. “Into The Mystic” (Take 11)
  • 3. “Into The Mystic” (Takes 12-13)
  • 4. “Into The Mystic” (Takes 14-16)
  • 5. “Into The Mystic” (Take 17)
  • 6. “Brand New Day” (Take 1)
  • 7. “Brand New Day” (Take 2)
  • 8. “Brand New Day” (Take 3)
  • 9. “Brand New Day” (Take 4)
  • 10. “Brand New Day” (Takes 5-6)
  • 11. “Brand New Day” (Take 7)
  • 12. “Glad Tidings (Take 1)
  • 13. “Glad Tidings (Takes 2-4)
  • 14. “Glad Tidings (Takes 7-8)
  • 15. “Glad Tidings (Take 9)
  • 16. “Caravan Redo” (Takes 1-2)
  • 17. “Caravan Redo” (Take 3)

Disc Four – All Previously Unreleased 

  • 1. “Come Running” (Take 1)
  • 2. “Come Running” (Take 2)
  • 3. “Come Running” (Takes 3-4)
  • 4. “Come Running” (Take 5)
  • 5. “Come Running” (“Rolling On 4”)
  • 6. “Moondance” (Take 21)
  • 7. “Moondance” (Take 22)
  • 8. “Glad Tidings” (Alt. Version)
  • 9. “These Dreams Of You” (Alt Version)
  • 10. “Crazy Love” (Remix)
  • 11. “Glad Tidings” (Remix 1)
  • 12. “Glad Tidings” (Remix 2)
  • 13. “Glad Tidings” (Remix 3)
  • 14. “Caravan” (Remix)
  • 15. “These Dreams Of You” (Remix)
  • 16. “I Shall Sing” (Mix)

Disc Five – Blu-Ray Audio disc with high-resolution 48K 24 bit PCM stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound audio of original album (no video)

 TWO Disc Expanded Edition track listing

Disc One – Original Album Remastered

Disc Two – All Previously Unreleased

  • 1. “Caravan” (Take 4)
  • 2. “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Outtake)
  • 3. “Into The Mystic” (Take 11)
  • 4. “Brand New Day” (Take 3)
  • 5. “Glad Tidings” (Alt. Version)
  • 6. “Come Running”(Take 2)
  • 7. “Crazy Love” (Mono Mix)
  • 8. “These Dreams Of You” (Alt. Version)
  • 9. “Moondance” (Take 22)
  • 10. “I Shall Sing” (Take 7)
  • 11. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version, Take 5)

17 responses to Van Morrison / Moondance 4CD+Blu-ray Audio deluxe set

  1. Pingback:Saturday Deluxe / 14 May 2016 | superdeluxeedition

  2. Pingback:Van Morrison / Astral Weeks expanded and other news | superdeluxeedition

  3. Dear all!
    This album is a masterpiece in Van Morrison production and this super deluxe edition is amazing.
    The set is comprensive of:
    Disc 1 Original album 2013 remastering
    Disc 2, 3 and 4 bonus tracks: Demo, outtakes, rarities
    Disc 4: Bluray audio of original album remestered in stereo 192Khz/24bit and Surround 5.1 Dolby Thhru HD (only audio – NO VIDEO CONTENT)

    Regarding the Bluray Audio in my player Denon DBP-4010UD the album start directly in Dolby Thru HD 5.1 96/24 and is impossible in any way to select the stereo PCM track 192/24. Is also impossible to see the main menu. I don’t know if is a disc bug or a problem of my Denon player. I am going to try with another player to ckeck.
    Hope to read the review of someone else about this.

  4. Pingback:Out This Week / 21 October 2013 | superdeluxeedition

  5. Pingback:“Dream Theater”: Back with Power, Melody and Complexity. « Matt Loves Writing! A Lifestyle Blog.

  6. Lee says:

    The ‘Moondance’ set is only showing up as an import via Amazon UK. Does anyone know whether the blu-ray disc is region coded or not?

  7. Pingback:Van Morrison unhappy with deluxe reissue of “Moondance” | superdeluxeedition

  8. Justin says:

    Hi Steve Gilmour,

    Robert is correct. Nonsuch is first up, and I believe Drums And Wires is next. I can’t list here how excited I am about these reissues! Huge XTC fan, and huge Porcupine Tree fan….best of both worlds. Check out Andy’s Twitter feed @xtcfans for news straight from the horses mouth. There’s some video to accompany the audio too apparently.

  9. Matthias says:

    Hello Paul! Did you catch this message on Van Morrison’s web page?



    Yesterday Warner Brothers stated that “Van Morrison was reissuing Moondance”. It’ is important that people realise that this is factually incorrect. I did not endorse this, it is unauthorised and it has happened behind my back

    My management company at that time gave this music away 42 years ago and now I feel as though it”s being stolen from me again

    18th July 2013


    May be worth a follow-up article.

  10. hans says:

    I wonder where the rest of the still to be remastered cds are? Come on various versions of one song? Who listens to this?

  11. Jason says:

    $75? Ridiculous! Hope it will come down before the release date.

  12. Justin says:

    Shame there’s no 2 disc CD/Bluray (such as the forthcoming XTC reissues) for the casual or surround fan. I will not be buying the full deluxe set for the surround mix.

    • Steve Gilmour says:

      Justin please can you email me or leave a message here. I am a HUGE XTC fan and have seen no info or news regarding remasters – there was a lot of talk in 2012 but since then nothing – can you point me in the right direction of news and when and where – thanks!!

  13. Ron says:

    Wow! I would love to hear this, but I don’t think I would play it as sequenced. Five versions of the same song could be fascinating, but even if the versions are very different that is a bit much to listen to at the same time. I might have to opt for the two disc version. It is great to see them digging into Van’s vaults.

  14. Hedley says:

    Oh Boy, this looks seriously interesting and suggests all sorts of possibilities for Van’s catalog. A 5.1 surround sound, three discs of outtakes/alternative versions and not a “live disc” or marble set in sight. I can take the modest packaging, and hopefully amazon drops it from the current $75 perch.

  15. Gary says:

    I’d kind of given up all hope of anything more being reissued/remastered by Van. While this looks good the packaging isn’t really super duper enough is it? I just hope this bodes well for some sort of Astral Weeks box.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *