PICTURES / Leo Sayer: Just A Box


Click to enlarge

British singer songwriter Leo Sayer has worked with some fine musical talent during his career. In the 1970s in particular, his albums featured contributions from the likes of Steve Gadd, Ry Cooder, Jeff Porcaro, Lindsey Buckingham, Greg Phillinganes, Waddy Watchel, Ray Parker Jnr, Steve Cropper, Donald ‘Duck’ Dunn and Steve Lukather and Jeff ‘Skunk’ Baxter, to name but a few.

Here we present for you some photos of Just A Box: The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 which we told you about a little earlier this month. It is a new career-spanning 14CD set that works its way through Sayer’s career, from his 1973 debut Silverbird (featuring UK no. 2 The Show Must Go On) and his US conquering Endless Flight from 1976, which included two American number ones (You Make Me Feel Like Dancing and When I Need You) through to the albums he made with Alan Tarney in the 1980s, and beyond.

36 extra tracks are offered across two bonus CDs, which include demos, outtakes and even a long forgotten ‘Disco Mix’ of Thunder In My Heart. These really do enhance this package, and Sayer’s personal notes on every album and every bonus recording within make great reading while you listen. The box is particularly sturdy, and the CDs come in card sleeves.

Just A Box is out now – full track listing can be viewed here.

MP3 Only: FRANCE Order: Just a Box – The Complete Studio Recordings 1971 – 2006


Click to enlarge


Click to enlarge


Click to enlarge

5 responses to PICTURES / Leo Sayer: Just A Box

  1. Pingback:T. Rex / The Album Collection box | superdeluxeedition

  2. Pingback:Chas & Dave / The Rockney Box 1981-1991 / 9-disc set | superdeluxeedition

  3. Philip says:

    Yes, and would be nicer if the booklet wasn’t a 1/16″ too big too…….

  4. Pingback:Leo Sayer on 40 years in music | superdeluxeedition

  5. Dean says:

    That looks exactly like the price would suggest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *