Features

SDE Reissue Preview for 2016

Another year over and a new one just begun... 2015 brought us some fantastic reissues and box sets, but for those who enjoy their glasses half empty, it also failed to deliver some hoped-for product (hello, Kate Bush, Prince and Pet Shop Boys).

This year should be good though and I’m sure we will see a 30th anniversary edition of the PSB’s debut Please. Hopefully, after the big announcement last month, Concord Bicycle Music Company will be using pedal power to deliver R.E.M. fans an Out Of Time 25th deluxe too.

We know (thanks to those ‘coming soon’ cards in the recent reissues) that Paul McCartney is skipping forward to 1989 and selecting Flowers in the Dirt for his next Archive Collection deluxe releases, it’s just a question of whether he’ll opt for a May/June release or whether we’ll have to wait until Sep/Oct for it.

Phil Collins / Face Value reissue

JANUARY

No messing around as we ease into 2016 with the small matter of a new David Bowie album at the end of next week! Mike Oldfield follows not long after and continues his intelligent and stylish reissue campaign with not only Discovery and The Killing Fields but a new collection called The 1984 Suite. Hopefully, Phil Collins‘ back is better and his delayed reissues can be promoted at the end of January. Finally, Star Wars fans should get their pre-orders in for the 11-disc Ultimate Soundtrack Collection which is great value at less than £40!

Reissues/albums of interest in January include:


FEBRUARY

Elton John returns with Wonderful Crazy Night, his 32nd studio album, which like 2013’s The Diving Board comes as a super deluxe edition box set. The Fun Lovin’ Criminals are back with a tour and a 6-disc deluxe of their debut, and David Bowie is on the release schedules again, this time with a 4LP box set of his Bowie at the Beeb set.

Reissues/albums of interest in February include:


MARCH

Primal Scream return with the dubiously titled Chaosmosis. Judging by the comments when we posted about this last month, the artwork is as unpopular as the title. James have a new album out, as does Tanita Tikaram. Sony (for some reason) will reissue Sade‘s Best Of on vinyl, as the wait for a Diamond Life deluxe continues.

Reissues/albums of interest in March include:


APRIL & Beyond

Confirmed reissues:

  • Leonard Cohen / Vinyl reissues
  • Paul McCartney / Flowers in the Dirt (archive collection reissue)
  • Thompson Twins / Quick Step and Side Kick (2LP deluxe)
  • Jean Michel Jarre / Electronica Part 2 (read about part one here)
  • Erasure / box set

Rumoured / likely-to-happen reissues:

I think it’s safe to say that – amazingly – we are likely to see a George Michael reissue, given all the recent activity (including the Freedom! ’90 picture disc) around the 25th anniversary of his best album, Listen Without Prejudice, vol 1. Whether George will open up the archives and include unreleased material (he didn’t with Faith) remains to be seen.

We know that Tears For Fears now have no choice but to deliver their new album before the summer, since they’ve already lined up their first UK gigs in over 10 years to support it. Meanwhile, the the reissue campaign started in 2013 with The Hurting, will continue, with a Q4 re-release of The Seeds of Love highly probable.

psb_please

Pet Shop Boys’ “Please” is 30 this year

Neil Tennant talked about a ‘forthcoming reissue project’ for the Pet Shop Boys almost a year ago. We were hoping for something in 2015 but clearly ‘issues’ have slowed things down. No matter, 2016 is the 30th anniversary of Please, so we will either get an all-singing and all-dancing deluxe of their debut or some kind of ambitious Blur Box-style career retrospective that spans many years. Our money is on the former.

R.E.M.‘s Out of Time is another album celebrating an anniversary (25 years) and as mentioned at the top of this post, it is highly likely to be reissued this year because the band have walked away from Warners and inked a deal with Concord Bicycle Music Company specifically to ‘leverage’ the Warner-era back catalogue.

Deep Purple‘s delayed Made in Europe box set should see the light of day in 2016, and I’ll deploy some reverse psychology here and say that Kate Bush‘s Before The Dawn definitely WON’T come out as a multi-disc CD/Blu-ray/DVD package before the year is out.

Paul Waaktaar from a-ha mentioned in a fan chat that a deluxe reissue of the band’s ‘comeback’ album from 2000, Minor Earth Major Sky, is being worked on, so we may see that before the year is out and we know that Parlophone are working on a ‘series’ of David Bowie boxes, so a follow-up to Five Years is close to a certainty in 2016 (SDE money is on it being called Golden Years).

Lloyd Cole working on new box setLast year, on the eve of his six-disc Collected Recordings set, we asked Lloyd Cole about working on box sets. He told us “I’m not against it, but I wouldn’t want to be devoting the majority of my time [to it]”. Despite this, he has already enthusiastically poured some energy into researching a solo albums box. It sounds like early days, so perhaps this is a project that may not see the light of day until 2017.

purplerainFinally, this wouldn’t be a reissue preview without lamenting the lack of the any Prince deluxe editions. It was March 2014 when Warners told the world that their new agreement with the Purple One would “see the release of long-awaited, previously unheard material”. Well, where is it then? Maybe they meant it would be a ‘long wait’ rather than ‘long awaited’. Almost two years down the line they appear to have be duped. Prince continues to do whatever he wants (issue new material, ‘hit and run’ tours etc.) and doesn’t appear to be doing ANYTHING Warners (or fans) want – i.e. enabling them to get on with creating some deluxe reissues. At least there is no evidence that anything is happening and only a fool would predict any reissues for 2016.


Thanks for stopping by and checking out this preview. The list isn’t meant to be totally exhaustive, so if you know of something not featured why not leave a comment and let us and fellow SDE readers know! Happy New Year!

You might also like…

194 responses to SDE Reissue Preview for 2016

  1. Luc Swaenen says:

    Don’t forget the Anniversary edition(s) of ‘Kings Of The Wild Frontier’ on Feb 6..

    • Karen says:

      Luc,

      Where did you get this date from? Nothing has been mentioned on any of the Adam Ant websites.

      It was only confirmed in an interview in October, that he was in talks with Sony to do a Deluxe Edition, and Adam was going to see over the remastering. (Surely he would get Chris Hughes in on this, as he was the original producer?, and if memory serves me right, Chris did oversee, the remastering/production of Antbox, with the unreleased tracks on that?). There is a tour in May/June (which was announced in October) for Kings.

      With Adam, sometimes his dates are way off. He last album was muted for coming out in 2011/12 it came out in 2013. He was supposedly recorded a new album, which should have been released last August/September, nothing so far.

      With a date of 5 February, that’s only 3/4 weeks away, and no mention on Amazon

  2. DJ Control says:

    Happy New Year to you Paul. Personally I’d prefer a Blur style box (which I thought was rather superb) for the PSB reissues. At least it would all be done in one go. No messin’ about waiting for anniversaries.

    • Matthew McKinnon says:

      Really? There’s been a lot of PSB compilations over the years – I’ve lost track, they’re almost as compiled as The Human League now.

      Much rather have an exhaustive box set for each album. The remasters back in the early 2000s were great, but there’s a lot more material could fit in there.

  3. JR Larsson says:

    I never understood how an artist would be content with an average quality release of their material. That being said, then Prince is only average since that is how his CD’s sound.

    • Paul English says:

      Prince’s CDs sound fine [aside from Sign Of The Times]. It’s the lack of 7″ and 12″ mixes on CD that’s the problem.

      • Matthew McKinnon says:

        They don’t actually. They sound really flat and… old. They’re really bad old CD masters.

        I don’t want them brickwalled or anything, but I’ve had to normalise and re-EQ the audio files off my CDs to get them sounding anything like as good as the vinyl originals.

        If you compare how the fairly recent hits compilation sounds compared to the originals, you’ll see what I mean.

        But I totally agree on the 12″ mixes: they’re a whole brilliant other side of Prince that’s at risk of getting lost forever.

        • Paul English says:

          I like the sound of the Hits 3CD compilation from 1993. The more recent one with the second disc of 12″ mixes was too loud IMHO. I bought Prince albums on both LP and CD over the years; agree that the vimyl sound better than the CDs but always found the latter acceptable apart from the murky mess that was Sign Of The Times. Did you hear the Japanese mini LPs? Seem to be volume-boosted.

  4. Rob C says:

    A couple others to add…

    The Comsat Angels will finally reissue the Jive albums, Land and 7 Day Weekend, by March (according to both the band and Edsel)

    These will be the 2-cd deluxes that were announced then delayed in Nov.

  5. dc says:

    John David Souther reissues with bonus tracks on Omnivore should be mentioned as well as Long Ryders’ Final Wild Songs box

  6. Neill2407 says:

    Would love Kylie Deconstruction albums to be reissued again with additional content this year.

  7. Andy Patton says:

    Think we will be waiting forever for anything from Prince regarding Deluxe Editions.. Shame really.

  8. ed says:

    Thanks for the heads up Paul. Any rumours of Roxy Music reissuing any if their albums?

  9. Joseph Kyle says:

    What, no milking of the 25th anniversary of Nevermind?

  10. Paul Murphy says:

    My word, has it really been a year since the last SDE p/review article. Time really is a jet plane, as Bob Dylan would say on, hopefully, the next Bootleg Series Box Set [it is almost certainly either BOTT or the Rolling Thunder film/music release, the last two boxes having bought Sony some time on the 50-year ruling, and John Wesley Harding having only 2 outtakes – both of them alternate takes rather than unheard songs – worthy of release]. It looks as though Bowie fans can close out 2016 lamenting the lack of archive excavations – how long ago does that Station To Station box seem now! Anniversaries seem to mean less to the Bowster than remixed reissues. Whilst Ziggy is likely to be ignored rather than impact on the forthcoming stage show [We Will Rock You is fine until you play Queen’s Greatest Hits next to it], surely surely one of the others can get a breathe of fresh air – I’d take a Tonight Deluxe Edition over yet another compilation, David. Still on personal preferences, a name I seldom see in these pages are the Eurythmics – one of the biggest and best groups of the 80s, with a wealth of live and unreleased material in the vaults, surely time for Dave and Annie’s return to the foreground. On the Fabs front, there isn’t much bar Paul to come – George and John did little after 1980, for vastly different reasons of course, and John left almost nothing behind, spending just over a hundred hours on stage and in studio from 1969 until his passing. [If it is possible to issue a Deluxe Edition of Two Virgins, please don’t]. Anyone bar me remember Bliss? Much underappreciated, Rachel Morrison had a voice that could pump blood through a corpse’s heart, but they never hit any kind of high spot. But their various vinyl and CD single releases indicated a large number of live shows are stashed somewhere, and I remember buying a cassette of some local radio stations at a CD Fair, so at least 2 and possibly a 3 disc round up could be feasible. Also back in the time of mullets and Mallets, she never did win that Oscar, but Wendy James and her Transvision Vamps made some good music for a brief period – with many TV appearances and promos out these, a Pop Art box could be easily assembled. Cream, Jimi, VU , the Pistols, Clash and Simon and Garfunkel are down to the dust on the tapes now, so 2016 is unlikely to see anything there, but a solo Eric box as full as the Layla set from a few years back would be a nice belated present, maybe Meat Loaf could stop issuing new stuff with the word ‘Bat’ in the title, and give us a Super Deluxe of the only one that counts, and maybe the Stones could give us one that’s worth having [failing that, get back in the studio with Mick Taylor and cut some new classics guys].

    • england says:

      Two Virgins Deluxe Edition…? It is possible by virtue of the Mono edition being a different “mix” as opposed to a fold-down of the stereo version.

  11. Josip says:

    Any info on Bowie at the Beeb? Especially regarding long OOP bonus “Live at Radio Theatre” from 2000.? Thanks…

    • Jon 77 says:

      Re – Bowie at the Beeb vinyl box: no info so far on the 2000 show is included but I did find this on the whatrecords website –
      In 2000 when ‘Bowie at the Beeb’ was released on CD there was an exclusive Japanese version which included “Oh! You Pretty Things” from the Sounds Of The 70’s session recorded in 1971 featuring just David and Mick Ronson. This track has been added to this vinyl box set alongside an additional exclusive bonus track, the lost “The Supermen” from the Sounds Of The 70’s session recorded in 1970 featuring David’s band of the time ‘The Hype’.

  12. Ingo Moeller says:

    Hi Paul,

    What kind of Erasure Boxset is confirmed for April 2016?

    Thanks for information from Germany.

    Ingo

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      No details, but they have said they will be doing a ‘box set’ :)

    • Gareth Pugh says:

      Not clear yet but it’s a keystone of their Erasure30 releases. The micro-site for that mentions ‘a deluxe super box featuring extended versions, B-sides & rarities, live tracks, remixes and more’ and the official weekly Erasure Info Service newsletter referred to the box as being ‘fan friendly’ compared to the more mainstream ‘Always – very best of’ release last October. Not necessarily out in April by the way – no date as yet but I imagine it will be the first half of this year as the band are aiming at getting their next all-new studio album out this Autumn and they likely would not want the two sales windows to clash.

      • Paul Sinclair says:

        Thanks Gareth. That section was ‘April and Beyond’ so I figured Erasure would be more ‘beyond’ than April :)

  13. BritinDetroit says:

    Roxy and For Your Pleasure – Steve Wilson dun it and somewhere they are gathering dust – Roll them out, we have waited long enough.

  14. Yanay Gorni says:

    Another disappointment in 2015 was the missing super deluxe reissue of Roxy Music’s self-titled debut. it was promised in an interview with Phil Manzanera in 2014 as a 2015 release, and was previewed in 2015’s Record Store Day, with the 10″ of Ladytron/The Numberer. But the actual deluxe reissue of the album was nowhere to be seen.
    I hope it will be released in 2016 :/

  15. David Bourgoin says:

    What about the Roxy Music deluxe editions of the first two albums. These were supposed to be released last year but it seems to have gone very quiet

  16. baward says:

    It would be nice if 25th Anniversary editions got released in the 25th year after release, similarly with the 30th ones!

  17. A disappointing lack of classic era ZTT label releases to look forward to, surely the 30th anniversary of Frankie Goes To Hollywood’s “Liverpool” deserves commemoration? Fans know there is even more high quality unreleased material from that era than there was available for the excellent 30th Anniversary “Pleasuredome” box. Likewise Propaganda’s “A Secret Wish” didn’t get the hoped-for 30th anniversary treatment last year, but maybe something new is afoot, given the hints the band have been dropping? Oh, and there’s still that unreleased Instinct album in the ZTT cupboard, the Nasty Rox album that didn’t make it to CD, the lost 60 minute Act jam…

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      I really like the Instinct I’ve heard, so I’d love to hear an album, assuming they did actually finish an album…

    • andrew says:

      I’d also love to see a re-release of Seal’s iconic first album, there are plenty of alternate versions and remixes that could be included. I seem to remember this album and others by Seal being listed for release a couple of years ago but it came to naught.

      • Paul Sinclair says:

        Yes, they were listed in an early copy of ClassicPop mag, I seem to remember. Seal’s debut was released as a DVD-A at some point with 5.1 surround. Would love to own one of those, or at least hear a surround mix of this record.

  18. Joseph Kyle says:

    Let’s not forget the reissue of the long-lost 4AD band Rema-Rema’s debut album

    • Kevin says:

      Joseph- Wheel In The Roses was reissued in 2003 although the numbers were quite small- it might have been limited to 1000. Point taken though. I personally have been hoping for a comprehensive Wolfgang Press retrospective box- throw Rema in there too. I think WP is a criminally under appreciated band.

      • thefxc says:

        At this point I think Wolfgang Press is the only long-term Ivo-era 4AD band that hasn’t had a comprehensive reissue. They have some tracks that never made it to CD or digital, so a comprehensive collection would be really nice.

        • Matthew McKinnon says:

          I’ll third that.

          The first album had a limited release recently, but the “Legendary Wolfgang Press…” compilation could be beefed up with the original vinyl versions of several tracks. Plus there might be some stuff in the vaults, sessions etc?

          I loved them, warts and all.

          You can get the Rema Rema EP as a HiRes download, still.

          • Joseph Kyle says:

            Good thoughts…but for Rema Rema this isn’t “Wheel In The Roses” I’m talking about. This is an unreleased album. It will include the EP as a bonus, but this is something else entirely.

            There were 500 copies made of the Rema Rema CD EP, if I recall. and yeah, it’s available digitally.

  19. What about E.C.’s new Vinyl-Box?

    whereseric.com: “January 2016 sees the release of Eric Clapton – The Studio Album Collection an impressive eight-piece, vinyl only box set, which brings together all of the musician’s solo studio albums from his time with the Polydor/RSO label, spanning the period 1971 – 1980. Each album has been faithfully replicated and pressed on 180g vinyl and two of them, Eric Clapton – Eric Clapton and Derek and The Dominos – Layla And Other Assorted Love Songs, have been re-mastered for this release.”

  20. Rare Glam says:

    Slated for between 22nd-29th Jan relase, these titles are on my to get list:

    Milk ‘n’ Cookies – S/T
    2xCD in hard cased book (more tracks than on 3 x LP set)
    3xLP set in slip case (with download code for extra tracks).
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Milk-N-Cookies/dp/B016JE8PEI/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1450458354&sr=1-1-fkmr0&keywords=milk+%27n%27+cookies+cd+box+set

    I have the original 1975 LP plus the RPM label reissue CD from some years ago which has some bonus material. This set features ‘Girls In Gangs’ which I think I only have as a live version that cuts half way through on a 45 min C90 live recording when the tape ran out! I always liked this crypto – glam / power pop band, great to see their whole back catalogue getting good packaging (and hopefully sound) treatment.

    AC/DC – Hot As Hell: The Very best of the Bon Scott era Broadcasting Live. 4 x CD set £15 rel 15/1/16
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hot-Hell-Very-Scott-Broadcasting/dp/B019FB2LMO/ref=sr_1_16?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1451642141&sr=1-16&keywords=cd+box+set

    I would like to know more about this. The 2011 15 disc ‘complete soundboard live recordings with Bon Scott 1976-79’ boot (500 sets only) sells for at least £140 these days and I noticed a couple of the sets from this box were issued as art-worked stand alone CDs in December last year. I guess this 4 x cd set will also feature sets that were in that box set, but can’t find anything on line about it which is odd given the impending release date. Anyone know anything?

    Skeletal Family – Eternal 5 x CD set (Cherry Red)
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Eternal-Singles-Rarities-Session-1982-2015/dp/B01891FQ5U/ref=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1451916193&sr=1-1&keywords=skeletal+family+cd+box+set

    One of my fave original British goth bands.

    V/A – Lookin’ Stateside 3 x cd clam box £18
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Looking-Stateside-80-Various-Artists/dp/B01891FQ2I/ref=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1451916327&sr=1-1&keywords=looking+stateside+CD+box+set

    Fourth set in the ongoing ‘Looking’ clam box compilation series. All good fun.

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Thanks for the info. Have made some enquiries about that Milk N Cookies box, so coverage coming soon…

  21. colm47 says:

    Happy New Year Paul.

    I have asked before, I think, but is there any chance of an Island Years type vinyl box set for Free (the band!) any time soon?

    Or a Fairport Convention Island Years box?

  22. Mike Cox says:

    Thanks for the preview Paul. In addition to the ones you listed I’m looking forward to a new XTC reissue. The series so far has been stellar. I have to say Oranges and Lemons is probably my favorite album by them so they’ll have a hard time topping it but I’m sure Andy and company will be up to something later this year. A George Michael reissue? Say it ain’t so! While it appears nothing is confirmed that would be great. Macca has been steady with the archive series even if the bonus material has been lacking for the money. I’m guessing a lot of the bonus disc could come from the 2cd Japanese release of the album that came out about the time of the album. My poor Prince–what a disappointment. Finally, I do hope TFF will release a deluxe “Seeds.” The other two boxes have been great!

  23. Kauwgompie says:

    Thanks Paul, happy New Year! After “Sparkle in the Rain” and “Oncce Upon a Time”, i surely hope we will hear something about a SDE version of “New Gold Dream”, the Simple Minds best album. Don’t you think something must be in the works? I sure as hell hope so.

    Also Bruce Springsteen has reissued several of his albums as SDE’s, and “Born in the USA” should be next as that one was released after “The River”. Whart are your thoughts on that? Will he release the extended and dub versions of his “Born in the USA” hits? I really do hope he won’t cop out and veto’s the release of remixes from that time. I for one love em! We have enough live material, I know Bruce is not a remix guy but they were done and released and part of that time period and many people enjoyed them.

    I’m also hoping for part 2 of the Stock Aitken & Waterman box. Im sure it depends on the sales figures of the first box. In my opinion that singles box was superb!! Just like the Bananarama singles box!!

    Again, many, many thanks for your excellent site!!

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Thanks :) Good call re Simple Minds. I think NGD is indeed next. Born in the USA would be good… but I have no real inkling as to where he’s headed next in terms of deluxe editions. I’d be amazed if we got EVERY remix though.

      • Gido says:

        Hi Paul,

        Re. Bruce Springsteen I have read in an interview with Thom Zimny (director of the documentaties on Darkness and The River) that if anything is next it will be Nebraska.
        The Boss however has to make up his mind about this

        On a different note,
        Steven Wilson’s next newsletter (published end of Jan) will include news on his re-issues of classic prog-rock albums planned for 2016. Fingers crossed for some new Yes / Jethro Tull / Roxy Music re-issues with 5.1 High Def mixes

        Cheers
        Gido

        • Phil Cohen says:

          As for Steven Wilson surround mixes, expect “Yes-Tales From Topographic Oceans” & “Jethro Tull-Songs From The Wood”.

          As for Bruce Springsteen, he has signed another mega-deal with Sony, and the deal includes new albums and boxed sets(“Nebraska”, “Born in The U.S.A.” & “Tracks 2″), but when these boxes will happen is anyone’s guess. The deal will keep Springsteen on Sony through his late 70’s!!!

  24. simon says:

    It’s the 40th birthday of Lynyrd Skynyrd’s ‘One More From The Road’.
    I’m guessing (hoping) that we might see the full 3 nights over 6 discs.

  25. Jon E.B. says:

    Regarding Bowie Jan. release: When informing us of an upcoming release, appreciated if you included a warning when an artists previously released a CD only to be followed by a deluxe version within the next year. This way customers would be notified they may want to wait.

    Still feel burned by buying the deluxe “Next Day” only to be followed by “extra” (or whatever it’s called) that included everything “deluxe” did & additional bits.

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      There’s always a good chance this might happen, but there is no way of knowing at the very beginning.

  26. Joseph Kyle says:

    Also, This Heat full catalog vinyl reissue via Modern Classics/Light In The Attic, due 1/16….

  27. Greg says:

    Great preview. Looking forward to another great year from SDE!

  28. Rob Wikcock says:

    UB40’s Present Arms Deluxe which is now out in February (according to Amazon …)

  29. david m says:

    Any news on Roxy music SW remix

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      I’ll see what I can find out about Roxy. I’m guessing delays may have be due to Bryan Ferry’s solo album and deluxe edition last year…

  30. Echo01 says:

    There is coming soon a (hybrid) SACD and vinyl 2LP of ‘Gene Clark – The Lost Studio Sessions 1964-1982′ at Sierra Records. You will be able to place your order if you are on the priority list at clarkalbum@earthlink.net

  31. Colin Harper says:

    Speaking of the ‘pink Island’ era, there will be a 20-track, c.110 minute, 2CD set of unreleased Quintessence studio gems from 1969-71 out on Hux Records, probably around May. There are six totally unheard compositions (four vocal, two instrumental) plus fabulous alternate takes, often much longer, of material that originally appeared on the group’s three Island albums and the first of their two RCA albums.

    Everything bar one track (a 1970 mixdown of one alternate take) is being newly mixed – from transfers of multis made at Abbey Road – by IFTA (Irish Film & Television Awards) award-winning engineer/producer Cormac O’Kane, along with myself. Original members Phil ‘Shiva’ Jones and Dave ‘Maha Dev’ Codling and original Island-era producer John Barham will approve the new mixes.

    The collection is likely to be titled ‘Spirits From Another Time: Island Studios 1969-71′ (after one of the previously unreleased tracks), and the booklet will feature new interviews with the above trio. While it’s a studio collection, it will definitely include one live track, ‘Body’, from the March 1970 St Pancras Town Hall concert – found on a multi-track reel that was overlooked when Hux released ‘Cosmic Energy: Live At St Pancras 1970′ in 2009.

  32. Caroline says:

    A deluxe of The Fall’s “Bend Sinister” is a must – not only is 2016 the album’s 30th birthday, it’s also the only Beggars Banquet era album not yet remastered. C’mon Arkivists, complete the set for us!

  33. steve says:

    See if you can find any info about the Adam And the Ants Kings deluxe/ super deluxe thing coming out in february apparently.
    What’s on the deluxe/ superdeluxe, and the dvd etc…

  34. Darryl says:

    I think that the new Kula Shaker album K 2.0 is worth a mention – due out in February on CD / LP / Special Limited Edition LP (including sheet music).

    http://www.kulashaker.co.uk/

  35. Kiki says:

    Hi Paul ! Happy new year to you and every reader in here !

    In my top wish list, the PSB are always very high, so I hope they won’t give us a too disappointing reisssue!!! (a TFF-Like box with EVERYTHING 7″/12″ mixes and unreleased would be great!)

    Eurythmics are still good and complete reissues…

    And also, I’d love to see the last “Madness” album that’s missing in the reissues (the 7th one!)

    I’d also love to see Garbage changing their mind and finally giving us a complete box set of the 1st album era, but I may be dreaming…

  36. Azzabazz says:

    Thx alot, Paul! Very helpful list. Come on, Macca! Let’s get a deluxe ‘Back to the Egg’ perhaps with a nice, clean ‘Rockestra’ making of!

  37. Denis Woods says:

    Blood sugar sex magik by the RHCP is 25 this year as well

  38. Azzabazz says:

    Also, I note The Cure are hitting the States this year. Any chance they’ll continue their reissue campaign? Anxiously awaiting ’92’s, ‘Wish’.

  39. spaceboy says:

    Happy New Year! Also a new album from Yello is expected. And don’t forget Crowded House reissues(?)

  40. Simon says:

    I believe Neil Finn is also hard at work at putting together a boxed set for Crowded House.

  41. André says:

    If the FAITH box set was anything to go by, I have a feeling LWP25 will be a similar let down. Of course, this is one of the few occassions I BEG to be wrong! There is so much that can be done for a stunning LWP25 release, if George really made the effort. At least a-ha (for me) are more than making it up with all their reissue activity! Keep it coming, lads!

  42. paul says:

    Paul is there an adam and the ants kings of the wild frontier boxset confirmed as luc mentioned. i havent seen one for sale

  43. Glenn says:

    Looking forward to many of the items listed above.

    Re the PSB Please reissue I hope they issue ALL the commercially released tracks on a SDE and allow us to trade in our vinyl.

    Maybe the Listen Without Prejudice reissue will have the ‘Father Figure’ Instrumental instead of Paradise.

    Hope R.E.M.’s reissues include all b-sides etc.

    Looking forward to tracklisting for the Erasure box set. Hope to see some promo-only or unreleased tracks.

    As mentioned above, the next two UB40 resissues have been delayed forever. I sold off my related CDs and vinyl so hope they actually come out this year…

    Other thoughts/wishes looking ahead:

    Would like to see a more complete Fine Young Cannibals reissue including Tired of Getting Pushed Around and all B-sides.

    Where are the General Public reissues? Would like to see the US-released tracks included if they are ever done (e.g. In Conversation 12″).

    Will ‘The Madness’ ever be reissued to complete the Madness campaign of several years ago? Understand there was a licencsing issue.

    Will the Selecter albums ever be reissued by a major label?

    Fishbone reissues would be great.

    Will Big Audio Dynamite continue to reissue their albums? First one was great aside from them editing the 12″ mixes.

    Any idea which album is next for XTC’s CD/Blu campaign?

    Would be nice if INXS did a proper reissue campaign beyond Kick.

    Will OMD continue their reissue campaign beyond Junk Culture?

    Will Dead or Alive reissues happen? Seems to be a lot of interest there for all of their singles etc.

    The Cure’s Wish album was planned to be the next 2CD reissue. Any news on that?

    Billy Idol would be a good candidate for a reissue campaign.

    As per your article last year would be great to have proper Sting reissues with all the b-sides etc.

    Wonder what Peter Gabriel will reissue next.

    Was sad the New Order singles box set never happened.

    What about the Siouxsie and the Banshees releases that have been hinted at?

  44. DaveM says:

    Great preview. 2016 should be interesting. I am looking forward to seeing the Pete Townshend remasters, Van Morrison deluxes and the PM Flowers in the Dirt SDE. My wish list would be as ever the remastered Beatles Anthologies, but also deluxes (2CD will do) of remastered versions of Elton John’s Honky Chateau and Madman across the Water including live, outakes and BBC sessions.

    • Phil Cohen says:

      Archival activity on Elton John’s catalog seemed to (Mostly, excepting Greg Penny’s surround mixes) halt, following the car crash that killed producer Gus Dudgeon and his wife. Dudgeon once said that he wouldn’t create expanded or remastered editions of those Elton John album that he didn’t produce or engineer, unless producers Clive Franks and Chris Thomas gave permission….hence there are no expanded/remastered editions of roughly one-third of Elton’s albums.

      • DaveM says:

        Phil, I think I read somewhere that it is EJ who is reluctant to authorise Dudgeon engineered material following what happened to him.
        I did not know about the decision about all the Franks / Thomas catalogue prior to the tragedy.
        Its a shame, because for me EJ has produceed more masterpieces (I am thinking the 70’s consistent run) than almost anyone else and continues to deliver the goods like the Union.

  45. Michael says:

    A deluxe edition of OMD “Crush” would be great too…

  46. David Hayes says:

    A new Michael Kiwanuka album is due, reportedly in March. Promo concert tour lined up.

  47. Cal says:

    I am hoping with it being 30 years since Wham! Split there will be a expanded Wham boxset with the a,s and b sides along with the mixes etc

  48. Davy says:

    And still nothing from The Beautiful South.

  49. JeroenF says:

    What a happy new year with all those releases!
    I was wondering Shakespears sister, any sign of life, reissue plans?

  50. simon franklin says:

    Big Star third is due the box set treatment in ’16, an expanded re-issue of the small faces ‘autumn stone’ after being delayed several times also. Plus deluxe version of the style council debut ‘cafe bleu’ and the jam complete box set said to rival in content that of the smiths and clash box sets. Looking forward to out of time reissue, should be good, as should the GM deluxe – keep up the good work! Thanks for making your site essential!
    PS I heard rumours of Ronnie lane expanded reissues to coincide with a book project

  51. Kevin Brown says:

    Would love to know what has happened to the proposed 19CD Boxset on the band “Free”. Island Records mentioned this box way back in 2011 and then again Andy Fraser mentioned it in 2014 also with a photo of the box set in the article . I don’t know I feel Universal has done very little with “Free” also mentioned in one of the comments above with the lack of a Vinyl Box Set , BUT really its this massive box set that I want released, does Universal not realise we are all getting old, the “Time” clock is ticking……….Universal Island Records get this sorted NOW!!!!!!!

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      The box isn’t happening now. I know that from an inside source. But we may see individual deluxe editions…

      • Phil Cohen says:

        There have already been expanded 1-CD editions of all of Free’s albums, and an expanded 2-CD edition of “Fire and Water”, ironic, since that album produced the fewest outtakes and alternate mixes of all of Free’s albums.

  52. JasonC says:

    This year’s Beatles product will be the Ron Howard live documentary due out at the end of the year. Could it be possible that as well as being a stand-alone DVD, it would form part of a larger 1+ style package of The Beatles Live. It could include a DVD of the Shea material (which appears to be remastered on the 1+ set) plus other live pieces like the Washington show and Hollywood Bowl on CD. Or a whole new live audio CD.

  53. paolo says:

    thanks for this beautiful preview Paul, and let’s hope one day or another Mr. Gordon Sumner opens his archives… :)

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      You’re welcome. I’d absolutely love some Sting reissues, but seems very unlikely at this stage :(

  54. johnny says:

    Any chance Edsel could do some more Suede reissues…?

    Just kidding…My #1 hope is PJ Harvey… If ever there was an artist in need of a full reissue campaign…It’s just got to come very soon, hasn’t it? Mind you, I said that about 10 years ago…

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      Haha, I thought you were being serious for a minute. Mind you Coming Up is 20 years old this year, so you never know…

      I have the two-CD version of To Bring You My Love, which is a treasured rarity.

  55. auteur55 says:

    Will Oasis’s Be Here Now deluxe edition finally make an appearance? I sold my copy after they announced the reissue was coming like two years ago.

  56. Michael says:

    Definitely time for that Kate Bush greatest hits/video collection release. Perhaps a full 2 CD set this time with remastered videos and Before The Dawn as a bonus? I know she’s not really about compilations (wasn’t she indifferent regarding The Whole Story way back when?) but a comprehensive look would be most welcome…

  57. Ben B says:

    And for those of us who love it loud, Monster Magnet are reissuing their A&M albums in Feb on expanded CD and vinyl

  58. Rich says:

    Re anniversarys, i’m pretty sure achtung baby has its 25th this year – would be nice to see an affordable 180g reissue minus all the extras from the 20th anniversary issue that priced it out of my budget last time.

    Also heard a rumour The The – Infected may get reissued this year.

    Wouldn’t mind seeing Pink Floyd expanding their re-issues to include Meddle, Saucerful, Piper (mono).

    Finally, can always live in hope of a new Roses LP.

    • Phil Cohen says:

      A Pink Floyd “Early Years” box is coming in late 2016. Floyd’s present-day engineer Andy Jackson has confirmed that he has just started work on it. The 6-song vinyl E.P. “copyright extension” set of two 7″ E.P.’s is a taster for the forthcoming box.

  59. Jason Brown says:

    Any idea if the first two Therapy? mini-albums Babyteeth & Pleasure Death might finally be issued? Apparently were remixed etc about 3 years ago for The Gemil Box, but never made it.

    I assume Metallica will be doing a 30th of Master Of Puppets, rather than a 25th of The Black Album.

    The Manics are doing a 20th version of Everything Must Go, aren’t they?

    And I wonder what odds we get of a reissue of Bryan Adams Waking Up The Neighbours…25 years since Everything I Do, and all that…

  60. Pete {in Australia} says:

    One of my fav emails is from your website. Gotta say Paul, wonderful job you do and I really appreciate it, and all your hard work. All the very best for 2016. Mind boggles at what my wish list would be, for reissues/deluxes, but the Shakespear Sister’s deluxes, that have been hinted at over the years would be divine. I was so HAPPY to see Kissing The Pink’s “Naked” get a reissue, but was really disappointed that the b side of “Mr Blunt” – “Water in My Eye”, did not get added……such a great track.

  61. James Auman says:

    Any chance Paul’s Flowers in the Dirt SDE will include rarities from the David Foster sessions that took place before that release?

  62. Garnet Gaither says:

    And what about the (both) announced well over a a year ago releases of – Blu-Ray Pure Audio; The Beach Boys, “Pet Sounds” with a 5.1 mix, and MoFi’s SACD of Santana- “Abraxas”. Still no word on either of these, I went ahead and canceled both my pre-orders after waiting a year.

  63. Alan Blevin says:

    Thanks for this fantastic site Paul.It has become a daily habit for me.Can’t work out whether I’ve saved more money from the Deal Alerts than I’ve spent extra from discovering stuff I never would have known existed but my overall music enjoyment has definitely increased.
    A few wishes and comments.We will be pretty sure to get more Stones From The Vault releases(rumours suggesting their might be some audio only stuff on the horizon starting with Brussels),Springsteen Live Archive and the next volume of Dylan bootleg series.While initially it could be 4-5 years between Bootleg Series volumes they appear to realise they have an ageing market and we have had a annual release for the last 3 years.As well as the BOTT sessions maybe a Gospel Years live show or 92 Supper Club might be on the horizon.Bowie Golden Years is hopefully a certainty.
    With regards to the REM reissue up until now the bonus content has been demos or live stuff with strictly no B Sides or remixes.Maybe the Concord deal will see a change in policy but they might also do a physical release of the digital box of the Warner Years that includes all this stuff.
    On the wish and hope list.Last year over onSteve Hoffman Forums someone mentioned the possibility of an Island Traffic box along the lines of the Spooky Tooth/John Martyn boxes they did.Does anyone know anything about this?
    Finally my illusory holy grail-further volumes of Neil Young Archives.At the time of release of A Letter Home Neil said in a Rolling Stone interview that Volume 2 would be finished by the end of 2014 and out in 2015.The latter of course did not happen.Near the end of the year at a Q and A at his wife’s art exhibition Neil’s art director Gary Burden said the problem with the Archives was that it was so expensive to make that it had to be priced fairly high which meant sales were a lot less than hoped for.Neil and co were still wrestling with formats etc.The next piece in the puzzle is a Q and A that Neil is having in LA on 29 February at a screening of directors cuts of Human Highway and Rust Never Sleeps which are the 2 movies that are part of Volume 2.Either give us some definite release details or put us out of our misery Neil!
    No doubt there will be reissues we aren’t expecting.12 months ago a Jam Live Box wasn’t even remotely on my radar.Looking forward to a great year in music.

  64. Phil says:

    Paul, any news on the Shakespear’s Sister reissues? I know it won’t happen this year, but I’m also holding out hope that Fleetwood Mac will issue deluxe versions of Mirage and Tango In The Night at some stage. Some Stevie Nicks deluxe versions would also be welcomed.

  65. Mike says:

    Hoping for The Wedding Album and Liberty deluxes from Duran now they are reunited with the back catalogue.
    Hoping for Listen Without Prejudice vol 2 with vol 1.
    Hoping for Tango in the Night with every remix.
    Hoping for Neneh Cherry Raw like sushi and The Beloved Happiness in 10 cd sets with every remix….

    Chances of any of these, not high!

  66. Alessandro says:

    I read some excellent suggestions for 2016 re-releases.
    My wishlist:

    – The Cure: “Wish” (deluxe edition), “Wild Mood Swings” (deluxe edition) and a comprehensive singles collection (Staring at the Sea + Galore + the singles released afterwards, all digitally remastered);

    – Kate Bush: at least the start of a reissue campaign and/or a best of;

    – Natalie Cole: a career-spanning, cross-licensed anthology featuring her work on Capitol, Elektra and Verve;

    – Oasis: the “Be Here Now” deluxe edition which was already announced;

    – George Michael – “Listen Without Prejudice” (remaster);

    – Eg & Alice: “24 Years of Hunger” (remaster/reissue);

    – Marc Almond: “Tenement Symphony” 25th anniversary edition, with single edits, remixes and b-sides (some of them were really top-notch);

    – Tanita Tikaram needs a more extensive ‘best of the Warner Years’ (the only ‘deluxable’ album from her catalogue is the debut LP Ancient Heart, since the following ones didn’t enjoy the same success). Music Club Deluxe released some excellent double CD set, working with Rhino, Sony and EMI. Her only official greatest hits album lacked some minor singles (“We Almost Got it Together”, “Thursday’s Child”, “I Love the Heaven’s Solo”) and a well-thought compilation would include single versions, rare b-sides and collaborations.

    – Dead or Alive: at least Youthquake and Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know;

    – Alison Moyet: Alf, Raindancing, Hoodoo and Essex deluxe, please!

  67. Alessandro says:

    I forgot about:

    – Fleetwood Mac: “Mirage” and “Tango in the Night” deluxe editions;

    – a career-spanning compilation celebrating Duran Duran’s 35th birthday. Decade and Greatest are both outdated and incomplete. Something like Simple Minds’ Celebrate or David Bowie’s Nothing Has Changed would be welcomed (a no-frills 2CD set and a limited 3CD deluxe set for fans).

  68. Wax Monster X says:

    Happy New Year! Looks I’ll be banking some $$ instead of spending on discs. Not much there …yet!

    Here’s a few I’d like to see soon-ish
    OMD – Crush Deluxe and Pacific Age Deluxe

    Simple Minds – NGD Deluxe Please get the remastering right, was not thrilled with Sparkle In The Rain.

    China Crisis – ALL C’mon already Virgin!! WTF?

    and please Parlophone don’t screw up the PSB reissues if they happen.
    A nice TFF / Simple Minds type box sounds about right. So much material out there!

    and on more obscure wants:
    Batfish Boys complete output
    Inca Babies – all albums + singles
    Marc Riley & The Creepers – all albums & singles
    Fingerprintz – anything on CD

    There’s lots more, but that’s a start.

    Here’s a wish that 2016 brings everyone some happiness for their ears!

  69. Alan Blevin says:

    Forgot about the continuation of the Jethro Tull reissues.Most excited about Songs From The Wood which should be out around the end of the year.Before that we are going to get Stand Up and another Aqualung this time in the book format used in the series from A Passion Play on.The Steven Wilson remixes on these have been of an incredibly high standard.

    • Phil Cohen says:

      It is unfortunate, that due to the change of ownership for the Chrysalis label(from EMI to Warner Music), that no one will ever put things right for consumers who bought the “Aqualung” CD/DVD/Blu-Ray/Vinyl box, in which consumers got Blu-Ray audio discs with digital error noises, either during the 5.1 mix, or (on my disc) during the presentation of the original 1971 stereo mix. It’s a shame. Furthermore, one of the two presentations of the 4.0 Quadraphonic mix(it appears in two formats) had a silent left rear channel.
      I’m not expecting Warner Music to put things right for free (for the manufacturing defect on EMI’s Blu-Ray disc), but Warner Music COULD offer a newly mastered Blu-Ray disc, so that we could buy the Blu-Ray disc again, to correct/repair the problem with our “Aqualung” boxed sets. Yes, Warner Music will released their own “Aqualung” set, but it will have lossy DTS/Dolby Digital)surround sound

  70. James says:

    Regarding Eurythmics, it’s more than interesting to note (for some of us) the recent US Twilight Time blu-ray release of ‘1984’ includes an isolated audio track for the Dave and Annie score. This is the first time these tracks have been heard without sound-effects, dialogue, etc.

    These recordings have never been commercially released and differ quite dramatically from the 1984 album Eurythmics released. It would be magnificent if Virgin granted Dave licence to remaster all the ‘1984’ recordings for a proper release – the magnificent music deserves it.

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      That’s really interesting James. Thanks for the info. Since 1984 vies with Savage as my favourite Eurythmics album, I think I’m going to have to pick that up. In related 1984 news in the early 1990s my girlfriend was trying to buy a flat in Islington, London and when we went to view it, Susanna Hamilton (Julia in the film) opened the door – it was her flat.

    • Phil Cohen says:

      The non-Rock soundtrack music in “1984” is NOT by Eurythmics. Originally, Eurythmics recorded an entire album of soundtrack music(and it was released), but the filmmaker ultimately went with conventional film soundtrack music and used very little Eurythmics music.

      • Paul Sinclair says:

        Yes I know the director or producer weren’t happy with having Eurythmics foisted on them, but there is still some of their music in the film, isn’t there? So an isolated score could still be interesting…

  71. Alan Blevin says:

    Finally from me Amazon.com has a preorder up for a late February release of The Complete Bearsville Recordings by Todd Rundgren which is about a 12 disc collection of all his 70’s/early 80’s albums.
    There have been rumours about a new Who box although I think this is more in the category of urban myth.

  72. Phil Cohen says:

    Apparently, The two Phil Collins 2-CD sets HAVE been manufactured, and it was too late to stop their distribution to radio stations & reviewers. But, it is a sad commentary on Collins’ decline in popularity, and consumer dissatisfaction with the announced tracklistings, that sellers unloading sealed copies of the “Take a Look at Me Now” box(the two 2-CD sets plus empty spaces for proposed future releases) on Ebay are not asking (or getting) very high prices. We don’t yet know for certain that these sets will be released, or whether these warehoused boxed sets will ultimately be melted down. Clearly, no one is clamouring for them.

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      An alternative way to look at it is that they are not getting high prices because they are coming out in a few weeks, so anyone with any common sense isn’t going to bother, unless you are a manic Phil Collins fan, desperate to hear the new remasters.

    • Joseph says:

      Clearly, people believe the sets will be officially released and are patiently waiting until that occurs when Phil is back up and about.

  73. Eightiesaddict says:

    Excited about anything PSB, Erasure, or Eurythmics. Ditto Prince. C’mon it is time for some Dead Or Alive remasters.

  74. richard says:

    what about the alison moyet Sony 4? I heard that she hinted on graham norton that more deluxe versions of her albums could be coming. Bring on the sony 4.

  75. Joshua Wheeler says:

    I know of 100,000 people who will sell their soul for Deluxe Editions of the China Crisis catalogue!!! But seriously every year someone comments that this should happen. Cherry Red did one deluxe edition. Can someone get a hint and do the others?!?!?! Ok it is to the point of pitiful begging now…What if I say…PLEEEAAASSSE?

  76. Don Jones says:

    I read an interview with Prince during which he said that after thirty years he gains ownership of his music. He said several were already remastered and ready to go. The time (lol) of the supposed release dates has already passed. Any news on “The Cars” or Madonna’s catalog from “Like A Prayer” on?

  77. AlexKx says:

    WHAT?! “FREE From The Shadows” is CANCELLED altogether now?! That’s terrible news!!!! FREE are in my top five greatest recording groups!!! I have waited years for that thing! There was/is even a website for it already though it has long been abandoned…with that said it blows my mind how this group does not have more live film/live audio recordings. I have a book of theirs that has photos of them playing in STADIUMS plural! They should be reuniting to play live and eventually recording new stuff! And yes I know it would have to be a new line-up since Andy Fraser has passed and Paul Kausoff (sp., eh).

  78. AlexKx says:

    Looks like it was all ready to go too! I’ve never seen this picture of it before…anyone else?

    http://timtirelli.com/2014/01/04/news-free-from-the-shadows-new-box-set-on-the-way/

  79. Chudbeagle says:

    The work has been done for a long time on Fleetwood Mac’s “Mirage”-where is it?

    And what about Fleetwood Mac Live and Tango in the Night???

  80. reed says:

    Would love to see Simple Minds continue down the path they have recently taken, this time with a 5.1 mix of Street Fighting Years. Hopefully they can include their promotional EPs in a larger box set.

  81. nsfw says:

    I’d put even money on some sort of Motorhead box.

  82. Kiki says:

    I Forgot to mention, but what about the Kim Wilde post “Close” reissues?

  83. gino says:

    Gavin Rossdale from Bush said he was prepping a sixteen stone deluxe boxset for 2015 – 20th anniversary but it never happened. Any word on this Paul?

  84. Dani77 says:

    My (super)deluxe dreams: Pink Floyd: Meddle, Animals, Deep Purple: Perfect Strangers, Fleetwood Mac: Mirage, Tango In The Night, The Who: A Quick One, The Rolling Stones: Beggars Banquet, Let It Bleed, The Beach Boys: Pet Sounds, The Beatles: Abbey Road

    • Phil Cohen says:

      There is nothing further that could be added to “The Who-A Quick One” beyond what was included in the Japanese 2-SHM-CD boxed set edition of a few years ago.
      As for “The Beach Boys-Pet Sounds”, you will eventually have your wish granted, though with that group’s internal feuding and the difficulty getting everyone to sign on the dotted line, the set may not appear precisely on the 50th anniversary of the original L.P. release.
      The next Fleetwood Mac album to get the deluxe box treatment will be the self-titled 1975 album.

  85. Error500 says:

    Now what would be great is if Liz Phair issued a full set of the Girly Sound tapes to celebrate 25 years.

  86. Mike says:

    What about a Super Deluxe of the Jam Sound Affect ?
    Kevin Shield also promised to reissue MBV Lp’s for the first time from analogue tapes, but with Kevin a year can last 10 years.
    Will we see the second box of the Neil Young Archives ?
    To Dani77, Beach boys pet sounds sessions was out more than 10 years ago and can be considered as one of the first boxset with all false start from the sessions.

  87. J says:

    Regarding the Pet Shop Boys, their homepage says “..2016 which will include releasing their brand new album (produced by Stuart Price), celebrating the 30th anniversary of the release of the first PSB album …” so I guess we will get a reissue of the first album rather than box set covering various years.

  88. Mark says:

    Tori Amos’ 3rd album Boys For Pele is due out in a remastered extended format this year (confirmed by Tori)

    30 years since Cyndi Laupers True Colors album this year,a remastered version with 1987 Paris concert audio/DVD plus unreleased extras would be nice.
    Cyndi is releasing a country album called Detour,executive produced by Seymour Stein for Sire Records sometime first half of the year with guest artists Emmylou Harris,Willy Nelson,Allison Krauss and Vince Gill.Cover versions of 50s and 60s tunes

  89. William says:

    U2’s new album songs of experience is due out in September according to the band…and maybe they will sneak out the remaster/deluxe editions of Rattle & Hum and Pop in between times…well i can but dream.

    • Aevion says:

      Really hope this happens……I’d even be happy with an expanded All That You Can’t Leave Behind or Atomic Bomb, as long as they do something. But Rattle & Hum definitely deserves a reissue.

  90. FRED says:

    I want Erasure’s box set with all albums and B-Sides … TFF “Seeds of Love” … PSB and Prince …. Hurah Hurrah 2016

  91. FRED says:

    … and why not : Terence Trent d’Arby … I’m dreamin’ ;-)

  92. MiG says:

    I’d shell for a Two Virgins deluxe. The CD is missing about half a minute from the LP (apparently…honestly I can’t tell the difference) and there’s an outtake floating around. Stick it in a box with all those Mellotron doodles and the John-and-Ringo larking about tapes and…oh go on, throw in Carnival Of Light why doncha. It’s a must buy all of a sudden.

  93. MiG says:

    @ Colin Harper – oh man oh man oh man, maybe I’m in the wrong company here but I’m looking forward to that Quintessence outtakes release. The two live sets were brilliant. Hey, any chance of an unedited “Giants”? That glaring splice in the middle has always had me begging for what got lost.

    We can be assured that 2016 will see a “Songs From The Wood” box, and given 2015’s double treat, maybe “Heavy Horses” too. And yeah, that “Aqualung” album must have hit an anniversary, no?

    It too early for a *proper* deluxe edition of Led Zeppelin 4? Sorry guys, stop weeping.

    On the Pink Floyd front, of course I want to see “Meddle” with the unissued quad mix…and I’m also gasping for someone to see fit to release “Relics” with the original Nick Mason sleeve and the lovely fake stereo singles. Honest, the CD just doesn’t feel the same.

    Top of the wishlist is that Ahmet makes his mark in a good way and deems it fit to release the original dry mix of “Uncle Meat” without the crappy bonus material. Still dreaming…

    And while we’re way out on a limb, it’ll devalue my Repertoire nest egg but come on somebody, find the master of Mandrake Memorial’s “Puzzle” and give us a proper CD. Maybe an MM box set. “Puzzle” is my favorite album of all time and I have NEVER heard it in good quality…which is a bit like saying your favorite painting is the Last Supper. Come on Leo, get those brushes out.

  94. Colin Harper says:

    Re: the Free box set and the existing artwork, quite often – especially when the artists involved need to give their okay to a project – provisional artwork will be created in advance, to give a feel for how it might look. One can only assume that one of the members wasn’t keen on the project (one might guess Paul). Commercially, if Universal go with a 10 CD Spooky Tooth box set, then a multi-disc Free set is hardly going to be cancelled because someone reckons it won’t sell.

    Re: Traffic, I heard a rumour that a box was dependent on Steve Winwood being convinced about it.

    Re: Roxy Music’s first album, I know from an inside source, confirmed as recently last week, that this was/is to be a 9-disc ‘absolutely everything, false starts and all’ set but the momentum for it stalled after sample artwork was produced, after which Ferry (who liked some of it) decided that he wanted to have the artwork generated by his own people rather than Universal’s.

  95. Chris Squires says:

    I want box-sets of the first 4 Kate Bush albums, decent 200g Vinyl with all the demos. As any Kate fan will know she was hugely prolific in the mid-late 1970s and demo versions exist for many of the tracks across the first three albums. Would love to hear clean versions of these. There are even known tracks like “Never for Ever” that right up until launch was slated as the title track of the third album, there are even promo posters with this track listed as a single. yet it has never even been heard. If they can master like the ATR mastercut version of Lionheart it will be sublime. Please, please, please. Not just b-sides and radio edits. Just listen to the Take on Me Demos from A-Ha, equivalent broken down / early versions do exist for dozens of KB tracks. About 30 demos are out there and there have been interviews with people like Andrew Powell commenting on the fact they have tapes with “100s” on. Gilmour must have some, Bob Mercer / Terry Slater those kind of people. I would trade the Before The Dawn DVD for those Box Sets….

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      I would be amazed if we got anything like that, although if you’d asked me in Spring 2014 I would have said I’d be amazed if Kate ever performed live again.
      That said, it honestly wouldn’t surprise me if we NEVER get any reissues. She’s probably beavering away on the ‘new’ album.

    • Joshua Wheeler says:

      It is a mystery of the ages to be sure! There are so many RABID fans of hers obviously including me, who would kill for something like a Super Deluxe of The Kick Inside or The Hounds of Love or The Dreaming. A six cd box set of one of these would be like entering nirvana without the effort. They did it for Tears for Fears…Music from the Big Chair. Well she did perform live so it is possible, although how likely is another question. In my fantasy world this is what we would get:
      1. Six or five cd versions of all the albums up to and including Hounds of Love.
      2. A four cd set of all her early piano recordings from best original sources.
      3. A four dvd set of all her t.v. performances, videos, and t.v. specials up to the Hounds of Love era.
      4. A two dvd set of a complete performance from her first tour…maybe Manchester.
      5. A Dvd Rom of every known picture of her up until Hounds of Love era (ok this is kinda silly but she is the perfect looking famous woman).
      Okay I can fantasize about all of this happening right? Its not illegal! Leave me alone!

  96. dennis f. says:

    just to throw this bit of geek out there…

    i’d like to see a partridge family box set….

  97. Don says:

    As long as we get a Tears for Fears “Seeds of Love” box, I’ll be happy. I’m more excited about that than even the new TFF album.

    Re: Simple Minds… there are rumblings that the next reissue will be Street Fighting Years, not NGD. But who knows?

    Also, 2015 was supposed to see a bunch of new BOB MARLEY sets in celebration of his 70th birthday. There was a new live album/DVD and the big vinyl set, but the deluxe editions that were mentioned in the original announcement never happened!

    • Alessandro says:

      Bob Marley’s catalogue has been remastered twice, if I’m correct. Once from mr. Barry Diament and later by Ted Jensen. His music has been very well treated by Island/Universal (and his family) so far, I can hardly feel the need or a third round of remasters.

      • Don says:

        Agreed, Alessandro! I was primarily talking about a continuation of the 2CD deluxe editions of his remaining Island albums, not remasters. There were additional 2CD deluxe titles planned (“Live!” being the next in line) but these were put on hold a few years ago due to legal issues. I had hoped that the 2015 announcement meant that those issues had been resolved, but maybe not. :/

  98. Mike says:

    What about Combat Rock from The Clash with the Mick Jones mix: rat patrol from Fort Briggs. And also a live Clash box. I know they recorded a lot of their show.

    • Glenn says:

      If a deluxe Combat Rock comes out would love to have the outtakes of Ranking Roger doing ‘Rock The Casbah’ and ‘Red Angel Dragnet’ with them which are on YouTube.

  99. dodge says:

    Im hoping for some Visage reissues – the first album plus the dance mix album – there are numerous b-sides, dance mixes and vids from the first 2 releases – double CD and DVD please!

  100. timhaydu says:

    i can only hope & pray that the t.f.f. reissue of “the seeds of love” is similar to the awesome “hurting” & “songs from…” reissue boxes. if it includes the original version of the album recorded and scrapped , it will be a dream come true!!!
    -t

    • Paul Sinclair says:

      There was never a scrapped ‘album’, that’s a bit of a myth. However I don’t think you’ll be disappointed, if all goes to plan :)

      • Julian H says:

        Well from what I understand there are songs dropped at the last minute and early, quite different versions of the known tracks, so probably enough to amount for an alternate ‘album’ of material. I know that the focus for the 2-CD set will probably be on the period rarities (Woman in Chains instrumental, Sowing the Seeds full version, Year of the Knife edit) but I really hope for a lot of outtakes and some live material as well (the band was amazing).

        We’ll see…

  101. AlexKx says:

    Colin Harper! Thank you for the information! RAWK!

  102. Nancy says:

    January 2016 will yet see the following releases:
    – Visage “Darkness To Diamond” (Remix Album) (out 8th)
    – Modern Romance “Adventures In Clubland” (Expanded Reissue) (out 22nd)
    – Skeletal Family “Eternal: Singles, Albums, Rarities, BBC Sessions, Live, Demos 1982-2015″ (Box-Set) (out 29th)

    February 2016 will yet bring us:
    Adam And The Ants “Kings Of The Wild Frontier” (Deluxe Reissue) (out 5th)
    The Cult “Hidden City” (New Album) (out 5th)

    While March 2016 will be reserved for:
    Blancmange “Commuter 23″ (New Album) (out 11th)

    as well.

  103. Nancy says:

    Other new albums also coming out/scheduled for release in 2016:
    Adam Ant “Bravest Of The Brave”
    Alphaville “Strange Attractor”
    Blondie “TBA”
    B-Movie “Climate Of Fear”
    Enigma “TBA”
    Fleetwod Mac “TBA”
    Samantha Fox “TBA”
    Howard Jones “TBA”
    Modern English “TBA”
    Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark “TBA”
    Slow Children “TBA”
    The The “TBA”
    Then Jerico “TBA”
    Kim Wilde “TBA”

  104. Kevin says:

    Would love to see a proper remastered deluxe edition of each Jane’s Addiction Warner release. Perhaps a (near) full live show from each era’s release on the second disc since we’ve seen the full complement of demos and b-sides in Cabinet Of Curiosities.

  105. Nancy says:

    Hubert Kah’s as of yet untitled box-set and promo video collection DVDs by both, Samantha Fox and Kim Wilde, should be out by the end of the year too.

  106. peter says:

    Maybe a deluxe The Dream Of The Blue Tur… LOL, no, no, i was joking!

  107. Mashburner says:

    Still extremely wantedfor the future :

    The Human League SUPER DELUXE EDITIONS of all albums

    Dead Or Alive SUPER DELUXE EDITIONS of all albums

    Sade SUPER DELUXE EDITIONS of all albums

  108. Nancy says:

    Classic albums celebrating jubilee anniversaries in 2016 – Part 1:

    20th
    – Ocean Colour Scene “Moseley Shoals”
    – Ash “1977”
    – Manic Street Preachers “Everything Must Go”
    – Metallica “Load”
    – Robert Miles “Dreamland”
    – Beck “O-De-Lay”
    – Suede “Coming Up”
    – R.E.M. “New Adventures In Hi-Fi”
    – DJ Shadow “Endtroducing….”
    – Kula Shaker “K”
    – Sheryl Crow “Sheryl Crow”
    – Skunk Anansie “Stoosh”
    – Faithless “Reverence”
    – The Lightning Seeds “Dizzy Heights”
    – Spice Girls “Spice”

    25th
    – Queen “Innuendo”
    – Carter – The Unstoppable Sex Machine “30 Something”
    – Chris Rea “Auberge”
    – 808 State “ex:el”
    – The Farm “Spartacus”
    – The KLF “The White Room”
    – Morrissey “Kill Uncle”
    – R.E.M. “Out Of Time”
    – Lenny Kravitz “Mama Said”
    – Roxette “Joyride”
    – Massive Attack “Blue Lines”
    – Simple Minds “Real Life”
    – The Orb “The Orb’s Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld”
    – EMF “Schubert Dip”
    – De La Soul “De La Soul Is Dead”
    – Mylene Farmer “L’Autre…”
    – Seal “Seal”
    – Electronic “Electronic”
    – Crowded House “Woodface”
    – Metallica “Metallica”
    – Prince & The New Power Generation “Diamonds And Pearls”
    – Guns N’Roses “Use Your Illusion I”
    – Guns N’Roses “Use Your Illusion II”
    – Bryan Adams “Waking Up The Neighbours”
    – Nirvana “Nevermind”
    – Pixies “Trompe Le Monde”
    – Red Hot Chili Peppers “Blood Sugar Sex Magik”
    – Simply Red “Stars”
    – Erasure “Chorus”
    – Mariah Carey “Emotions”
    – Enya “Shepherd Moons”
    – Genesis “We Can’t Dance”
    – Michael Jackson “Dangerous”
    – U2 “Achtung Baby”

    • Marcin says:

      Well I’m expecting a special 25th-anniversary reissue of Michael Jackson’s “Dangerous” (to which Sony would once again add some ridiculous, “contemporary” remixes). I hope this time they will finally reveal this David Lynch-directed video for the title track.
      And, I’m also expecting huge reissues of Guns N’Roses albums, with extra material – now that they’ve announced plans for the tour, plus it’s 25 years since “Use Your Illusion”.
      I wouldn’t be surprised if Metallica announce some schedule of reissues, not necessarily because of the anniversary of The Black Album…

  109. PAC says:

    Neneh Cherry….. come on !

  110. baward says:

    As likely as a snowball fight in hell I expect, but I’d love to see some legacy re-releases of stuff by (The) Banderas, one of the forgotten acts of 90’s music.

  111. Ravi says:

    Coming off a wallet crushing 2015, I read your article with great interest and thought “not too bad”….

    Then I started reading all the comments and thinking “Oh yeah, that’s a good one! That one too! Yep, gotta have that…”

    So your invited to my wallets funeral on December 27, 2016…

    Thanks Paul.

  112. Nancy says:

    Classic albums celebrating jubilee anniversaries in 2016 – Part 2:

    30th
    – Talk Talk “The Colour Of Spring”
    – Depeche Mode “Black Celebration”
    – Janet Jackson “Control”
    – Pet Shop Boys “Please”
    – The Art Of Noise “In Visible Silence”
    – Peter Gabriel “So”
    – Queen “A Kind Of Magic”
    – Genesis “Invisible Touch”
    – Jean-Michel Jarre “Rendez-Vous”
    – Mylene Farmer “Cendres de Lune”
    – The Smiths “The Queen Is Dead”
    – Madonna “True Blue”
    – Eurythmics “Revenge”
    – The Housemartins “London 0 Hull 4″
    – Paul Simon “Graceland”
    – Bon Jovi “Slippery When Wet”
    – The Human League “Crash”
    – New Order “Brotherhood”
    – Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark “The Pacific Age”
    – A-Ha “Scoundrel Days”
    – Cameo “Word Up”
    – The Mission “God’s Own Medicine”
    – The The “Infected”
    – Beastie Boys “License To Ill”
    – Kim Wilde “Another Step”

    35th
    – Visage “Visage”
    – The Stranglers “Themeninblack”
    – The Stranglers “La Folie”
    – Spandau Ballet “Journey To Glory”
    – Public Image Ltd. “Flowers Of Romance”
    – Vangelis “Chariots Of Fire (OST)”
    – Jean-Michel Jarre “Magnetic Fields”
    – The Cure “Faith”
    – Kraftwerk “Computer World”
    – Echo & The Bunnymen “Heaven Up Here”
    – Duran Duran “Duran Duran”
    – Magazine “Magic, Murder And The Weather”
    – Siouxsie & The Banshees “JuJu”
    – Kim Wilde “Kim Wilde”
    – Foreigner “4”
    – Simple Minds “Sons And Fascinations / Sisters Feelings Call”
    – Ultravox “Rage In Eden”
    – Heaven 17 “Penthouse And Pavement”
    – John Foxx “The Garden”
    – Saxon “Denim And Leather”
    – The Human League “Dare!”
    – UB40 “Present Arms”
    – New Order “Movement”
    – U2 “October”
    – Adam & The Ants “Prince Charming”
    – Depeche Mode “Speak & Spell”
    – Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark “Architecture & Morality”
    – Cabaret Voltaire “Red Mecca”
    – Matt Johnson/The The “Burning Blue Soul”
    – Japan “Tin Drum”
    – Soft Cell “Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret”
    – ABBA “The Visitors”
    – The Go-Go’s “Beauty And The Beat”

  113. Nancy says:

    Classic albums celebrating jubilee anniversaries in 2016 – Part 3:

    40th
    – David Bowie “Station To Station”
    – Dr Feelgood “Stupidity”
    – Vangelis “Albedo 0.39″
    – Jean-Michel Jarre “Oxygene”
    – Stevie Wonder “Songs In The Key Of Life”
    – ABBA “Arrival”
    – Queen “A Day At The Races”

    45th
    – T.Rex “Electric Warrior”
    – Yes “The Yes Album”
    – Yes “Fragile”
    – Jethro Tull “Aqualung”
    – Leonard Cohen “Songs Of Love And Hate”
    – The Rolling Stones ” Sticky Fingers”
    – Paul & Linda McCartney “Ram”
    – Emerson Lake & Palmer “Tarkus”
    – Fairport Convention “Angel Delight”
    – Carole King “Tapestry”
    – Rod Stewart “Every Picture Tells A Story”
    – Joni Mitchell “Blue”
    – The Who “Who’s Next”
    – Deep Purple “Fireball”
    – Cat Stevens “Teasers And The Firecat”
    – Curved Air “Curved Air”
    – John Lennon & The Plastic Ono Band (with The Flux Fiddlers)
    “Imagine”
    – Lindisfarne “Fog On The Tyne”
    – Led Zeppelin “Four Symbols (Led Zeppelin 4)”
    – Isaac Hayes “Shaft”
    – Original Soundtrack “Love Story”

  114. Colin Harper says:

    @ MiG – re: the 2009 Hux Quintessence live albums… there may well be a chance to revisit the Queen Elizabeth Hall material in a future release. We had to make do with a basic balance mix from Abbey Road, supplied by Universal, for the 2009 CDs (the 2CD ‘Infinite Love: Live At QE Hall’ and half of ‘Cosmic Energy: Live At St Pancras’, with the 40 min ‘Giants’ as a bonus to the surviving St Pancras material).

    Universal have, very generously, been happy to give us access to the multis for the forthcoming studio outtakes collection, and that will result in a hugely improved product – a lot of mixing wizardry and patience is going into the album, believe me. It has crossed my mind that a 5CD box set (clamshell box, five mini-LP sleeved discs and a perfect bound booklet) containing the three live discs and the two studio discs could be a future Hux project, as the live discs have more or less sold out at this point. Rather than simply repress, I would hope Universal would be agreeable to allowing multi-track access so the QE Hall material can be properly mixed – giving 2 1/2 discs of ‘exclusive’ content. I would envisage the booklet containing new material alongside the original 18,000+ words content of the original live CD booklets and the (no doubt also lengthy) content of the forthcoming outtakes 2CD.

    This is just an aspiration at this point, but it’s eminently possible. Re: the splice in ‘Giants’ – the tape had run out and was replaced mid song (well, it WAS a 40 minute song, after all!) and, as I recall, we spliced the two sections together in as ‘musical’ a way as possible while losing as little actual music as possible.

    There is, though, a happy coda to the tale of the missing St Pancras 1970 live material. Previously, only a 36 minute monitor mix (as used on the 2009 CD) could be found. Turns out that was the second set in the concert. We’ve now found a multi-track for ‘Body’ with post song chat that suggests it was the end of the first set. This track will be appended to the studio outtakes 2CD.

  115. David White says:

    A lot of potentially exciting issues for 2016 , although i do not hold out too much hope for Kate Bush reissues!

    My desirables for 2016 would be:-

    Tears for Fears Seeds of Love (SuperDeluxe)
    Terence Trent D’Arby Introducing the Hardline (Superdeluxe)

  116. Neil says:

    Regarding the Tears for Fears Seeds of Love (SuperDeluxe) that everybody is hoping for there won’t be enough material to fill a double CD never mind a box set as there was only a handful of b sides and no live tracks or remixes from that album. No doubt somebody will mention the Live In Santa Barbara concert but that’s already been released on the Scenes From The Big Chair DVD.

    • Julian H says:

      Erm Neil… surely you know the backstory of the album? There’s three years’ worth of unused songs, alternate versions, jams, etc.! And if you could calculate, you’d surely see that 2 CDs are nicely filled with the album, it’s b-sides, the single and radio edits, Woman in Chains instrumental, all Johnny Panic mixes and Sowing the Seeds full version.

      • Paul Sinclair says:

        Since he’s mentioned it on his site, I’ll confirm that Steven Wilson has remixed it into 5.1, with David Bascombe and Roland both involved. Can’t say any more than that though!!

        • Julian H says:

          There we go. Great news. Did they take better care of the transitions this time? (as there are no gaps between the first three tracks again, like on SFTBC)

          Also, I’m sincerely hoping that working with Steven Wilson, Winner of the Dynamic Range Award 2015, has sharpened TFF’s sense for dynamics and proper mastering so that the new album doesn’t turn out like the sonic mess that was ELAHE.

          Anybody who isn’t aware of how much even previously released rarities there are, just click on my name and search for the Seeds thread.

  117. Steen says:

    Prince in Ebony Magazine:

    EBONY: Will you be remastering the catalog?
    Prince: Hopefully, yeah. A new Greatest Hits. Because I never had anything to do with [The Hits/The B-Sides]. But put great liner notes in it to explain what record came from what and why. Explain the backstory of it. Somebody said “Purple Rain” was inspired by Bob Seger! I said, call him in. “Sit down, man. Y’all got to have everything, huh? Bob Seger?! You gon’ put that in the ether? OK.” [laughter]

  118. Nancy says:

    Classic albums celebrating jubilee anniversaries in 2016 – Part 4:

    50th
    – Byrds “Turn, Turn, Turn”
    – Simon & Garfunkel “Sounds Of Silence”
    – The Rolling Stones “Aftermath”
    – Lovin’ Spoonful “Daydream”
    – The Mamas & The Papas “If You Can Believe Your Eyes And Ears”
    – The Beach Boys “Pet Sounds”
    – The Beatles “Revolver”
    – Bob Dylan “Blonde On Blonde”
    – Maurice Jarre “Doctor Zhivago (OST)”
    – The Monkees “The Monkees”

    55th
    – Everly Brothers “A Date With The Everly Brothers”
    – The Shadows “The Shadows”
    – Elvis Presley “Blue Hawaii (OST)”
    – Cliff Richard & The Shadows “The Young Ones (OST)”

    60th
    – Frank Sinatra “Songs For Swinging Lovers”
    – Bill Haley & His Comets “Rock Around The Clock”
    – Elvis Presley “Rock ‘N’ Roll”
    – Lonnie Donegan “Showcase”
    – Original Soundtrack “Carousel”
    – Original Soundtrack “Oklahoma!”
    – Original Soundtrack “High Society”

  119. Yani says:

    I see the Kings of the Wild Frontier is May 20th at a meaty £80

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>